Airport problems with new iMacs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by oacory, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. oacory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I looked through a few pages of threads and did not see this so here I go...

    Is there a problem with the new iMac and their airport card? I bought a new iMac 21.5" to replace my 20" early 2007 model and the internet stayed connected to my router for maybe the first few days but now it keeps disconnecting. It sometimes will reconnect once I turn the card off and then on again other time I need to restart the computer to get it to connect. There have even been a few times when a restart does nothing for the problem. This problem is not just a once in awhile thing. Just this morning, I worked on my computer for like 20 minutes and it disconnected itself about 5-6 times while just downloading some music in iTunes and surfing this forum.

    Is this just me? or is this a wide spread problem? I want to know so I can take it to the Genius Bar if this is just me to have them fix it.
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    It's possible it might be the DNS settings your ISP uses or also if you live in an area with lots of wi-fi networks you may have a channel conflict. I'd recommend reading this MacWorld article and changing the DNS settings, the instructions are in the article.

    http://www.macworld.com/article/146064/2010/02/troubleshootdns.html?t=234

    On the channel conflict download and install iStumbler (use Google to find it) and see if you are competing for a wi-fi channel, if so change the channel on your router.

    Regards,

    Roger
     
  3. oacory thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    Alright, Thanks for the help. I will look into that stuff. I never really noticed this happening with my old iMac, iPhones, MBP, etc. Do you know if the Airport in the new iMac is stronger, consequently picking up more networks? This was not really a problem before, it may just be a coincidence.
     
  4. styleychild macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Swindon, UK
    #4
    I seem to be having a similar problem. I've got a new 27" iMac and am having trouble with Internet connectivity. I have no problems using my Macbook Pro running 10.5.8 but although the iMac is running 10.6.3 and also connected to my Wi-Fi network I can hardly even get Google to load. I have tried pinging apple.com from both machines and thy appear to be ok so can't think why I can't get anything to load on the iMac???
     
  5. Hondo80 macrumors newbie

    Hondo80

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    I was having similar problems as the OP was. I kept getting an ! over the AirPort icon. The problem was the security settings on my router. I had to switch from WEP to WPA. Works like a charm now.
     

Share This Page