Airport question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by peejack, Mar 9, 2008.

  1. peejack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #1
    Is it possible to fit an airport card myself to a new mac pro?

    Thanks
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    Yes but its not as easy as RAM, HD, or PCI cards. You slide a small card into a connector on the backplane bolt it down and attach tiny antenna wires. A steady hand is a plus as there is some risk of damage.

    Many have done it. I heard the apple store does not charge much for installation.
     
  3. zdobson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
  4. peejack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #4
    Hi, thanks for the reply.

    Do you ave to take anything apart and what tools would I need?

    I would take it to apple but they are miles from me.

    Do the airport cards work ok in the new mac pros?

    Thanks
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    I've read that the 2008 Mac Pro uses a different card than what is readily available. You'd need to take it to Apple or have bought it with the card.
     
  6. peejack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #6
    They must sell these card though??
     
  7. zdobson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #7
    When I bought my MP, they didn't sell the cards seperately. I think the new cards are different because they are "n" and the old ones are "g".
     
  8. termina3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    #8
    All Mac Pros use a card different from that which is readily available. The card is (supposed to be) only available to certified hardware technicians.

    They're required to install the card for you; installation is included in the price of the card.

    You don't have to take anything apart, it's really a very simple process, just takes great dexterity to fit the wires onto the card

    No, Apple won't sell you the card directly unless you're a technician. You may have more luck with a 3rd party (I got mine from CompUSA after many, many hassles).

    I state all of the above from first-hand experience; beware of ignorant AppleCare employees and others who will tell you the card they sell is for all Macs. It's not true–the MP is unique.

    See here for installation instructions
     
  9. peejack thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #9
    Thanks for all the info.

    Iis there anywhere I can buy one from in the UK?
     
  10. termina3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    #10
    I'd suggest checking local 3rd party retailers that sell Macs, and of course the usual online retailers (e.g. OWC, macmall)
     

Share This Page