Airport reception better in Vista than Leopard?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Dale Cooper, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. Dale Cooper macrumors regular

    Dale Cooper

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    #1
    Has anyone else experienced that airport reception (or at least the ability to connect to networks) are better in Vista, using Boot Camp, than in Leopard? On my macbook, I can sometimes connect to one of the three unsecured networks where I live with Leopard, but if I boot into Vista I'm always able to connect to at least one. This is quite annoying... Can anyone suggest a reason for this? Or a way to make it the other way around...?

    Thanks!
     
  2. f1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #2
    Are you able to do anything with those connections in Vista? I've had a similar experience where Vista and Leopard will pick up the same wireless networks (all very weak signal), but Vista will connect to some of them whereas Leopard will not. however when I am connected in Vista, I can't do anything with the connection because the signal strength is so low, so for me its pointless.
     
  3. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Yeah I'm a bit confused over this too. In Vista I get about 2-3 signal bars (even though the router, albeit a (crappy) Linksys router, is in the other room. In Leopard I always get full signal bars. Yet somehow, in Vista I notice a better connection/higher download/upload rate than under Leopard. Not really sure what to make of it.
     
  4. Dale Cooper thread starter macrumors regular

    Dale Cooper

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    #4
    Yup, I can get online in Vista (although it somtimes requires that vista "repairs" the connection. That is why its so frustrating...
     
  5. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    When Leopard (before 10.5.2) was having issues with certain wireless networks I was able to connect to them using Windows Vista on my MacBook.

    I would say Leopard usually always reports a high signal though.
     

Share This Page