Airport Router Problems

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by meikailani, Apr 8, 2012.

  1. meikailani macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    #1
    Can someone assist me with help with my Airport Router - Airport Express 802.11n.

    I am currently running OS X 10.7.3, and the other day, i accidentally unplugged my modem. When i plugged it back in, I could not access the internet, so I called my ISP provider and now it works. I reset the router, and it works to. I checked on my computer, which says I am connected to the wireless network, and even checked that all cables were plugged in.

    The problem I am having now, is I believe my iMac is using the wireless, but I can't connect my iPad, iPhone, Laptop, Droid2 or iTouch to connect to this server. When I go into network preferences on the device, it shows the network, asks for a password, and says trying to obtain IP address, but never gets connected.

    Can someone please help....Thanks....

    So Frustrated........
     
  2. ardzuna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    #2
    Try changing the radio channel to 9 or 10, don't leave it on Automatic.
    I had similar problems with my AirPort Express and setting the radio channel to 9 solved them.

    Using AirPort Utility go to AirPort Express -> Edit -> Advanced -> Wi-Fi Settings -> Radio Channel. Choose 9, save the new settings and wait for the AirPort Express to update itself :)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. meikailani thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    #3
    Hi, thanks for the reply......but it didn't seem to work. Do you think i may need a new Airport router. I've only had it for 3 years......

    ....what other trouble shooting can i do?

    iMac seems to be connected, but my other devices can't find the ip address when i try to select my network :confused:
     
  4. laurenr, Apr 13, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012

    laurenr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Using Airport Utility on the iMac, check your base station's IP address. If it shows a number that begins with:
    "169.254.xxx.xxx"

    This could be your problem.

    Another consideration if you have CABLE modem. This has worked for me before, and have seen similar solution discussed on Apple boards. Power off everything - computer, base station, modem. Unplug all devices from electrical outlet, ethernet, wait at leat 15 - 20 minutes, allowing them to "forget" their settings. Then power them on one at a time,Cable modem before base station, waiting a few minutes before restarting the next device. Then try connecting to the internet with your Ipad, laptop, etc.
     
  5. onlinetv144 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    #5
    online tv

    Thank you for posting the great content…I was looking for something like this…I found it quiet interesting, hopefully you will keep posting such blogs….Keep sharing
     
  6. daleycss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #6
    im not sure but your ipad might not support a 5 ghz frequency thing which your mac will. you need to set it to the 2.4 ghz/5 ghz band so that it supports everything... hope that works for ya!
     
  7. laurenr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    The iPad definitely supports an 802.11n 5GHZ network. I am on mine right now.
     

Share This Page