Airport time capsule 2TB? what to do?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by trellaine, Oct 27, 2016.

1. trellaine macrumors member

I recently had my cable/internet hooked up. The modem/router are in one device and the wifi is being used for all my other devices in my network.

I have an airport time capsule with 2tb. I own a mac/ipad/iphone/appletv/xbox/wiiu etc.

I am not that tech savvy and wondering how and what to use the airport time capsule for?

Should I connect the time capsule to the modem and use it for wifi? Can I use the time capsule as a hdd wirelessly? Sorry I am confused as you can see.

I am just looking for the right way to set this up ?

Thanks

2. comics addict macrumors 6502a

What I did in my case is that I disabled the wireless router function in my modem/router combo and setup my AirPort Extreme as the access point. Not sure if you have such an option for your modem combo device. Search online for how to turn off Wi-Fi specific for your model. Some ISP don't allow it for some reason.

3. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

BrianBaughn

What version Time Capsule (model) do you have? What model modem/router did you iSP give you? Do you have any ethernet wiring in your house? Also, give a brief description of your house's layout and where the modem/router is located.

Getting the best setup starts with this info.

4. Brian33 macrumors 6502a

Well, a few "easy" uses I can think of would be: