Airport Time Capsule or Router/HD Setup?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by NativeTxn, Dec 6, 2013.

1. NativeTxn macrumors regular

I am in the market for a new router, as the one I have is about 7 years old and it is requiring more and more frequent resets to maintain connections, stability, etc.

In the family, we have the following devices:

15" rMBP (late 2013)
    iPhone 5
    iPad 2
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Nexus 7 (original)

I want to have a setup where there is an ongoing/continuous backup of my rMBP, but also one that my wife (iPhone 5 and iPad) could use to save pics, videos, etc.

I am new to the Mac world on the computer side (having used PCs for the better part of my life), and I was contemplating the Airport Time Capsule (I like the simplicity of having both the router and HD in one device and I've heard that it is exceedingly easy to set up and works very well with iOS/OSX devices).

But I was also wondering if it would be better and/or more versatile to get a separate router and hard drive (for example, an ASUS RT-AC66U and a WD My Book - or something similar, as I'm not married to either of these particular items). Then you can choose the specific router and hard drive, and if one goes bad, you only have to replace it if the other is still working.

So, I defer to those on this forum for their thoughts (e.g. on whether the TC is worth it and how it compares to a separate router/HD setup) and opinions/suggestions (e.g. if you would recommend the separate router/HD setup, what specific options you would suggest).

Thank you in advance.

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

There are some aftermarket routers that will work with Time Machine for backup, but the issue is none of them are officially supported by Apple. The result of that is often OS X upgrades will break compatibility with that router's Time Machine functionality and you have to wait for the router manufacturer to update firmware to fix the problem.