Airport Utility 5.6.1 on Mountain Lion

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Jefferyd32, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. Jefferyd32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, Or
    #1
    I recently moved and I have 5 airport expresses that I am trying to set up. A few of them are older versions, and Airport Utility does not allow me to change their settings. I just want to change their name so I can tell what room they are in. I have version 6.1, but Airport Utility, states that this version does not support this AE, download Airport Utility 5.6, but version 5.6 doesn't work with Osx 10.8. Any solutions? thanks for any help.
     
  2. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #2
    If you have access to a Windows PC or laptop, you could download Airport Utility 5.6.1, or 5.5.3 which is still available, then do the updating by ethernet, either as a network, or connected singly.

    If it's a borrowed PC, you can uninstall Airport Utility when you're done.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Airport Util 5.6 will run on ML and can coexist with the new Airport Utility once you get it installed (I have both on 10.8.2). The problem is the installer won't let you install it.

    There are some sites that have instructions for manually removing the app from the installer, or you can download the extracted app directly from this site (link on right side). This site is from the dev. of the Netuse Traffix Monitor and is legit.
     
  4. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #4
    You can have Airport Utility 5.6.1 on ML.

    1. Download Airport Utility 5.6.1 from Apple's website.

    2. Download this Automator Workflow (which will pull the 5.6.1 app file out of the .dmg).

    3. Drag and drop the Airport Utility 5.6.1 DMG onto the Automator Workflow file.

    4. Wait a few seconds for the workflow to finish and it will output the Airport Utility 5.6.1 app.

    Just rename it to "older Airport Utility" or "AU 5.6.1" or whatever you like and drop the file into your Applications->Utilities folder where it can sit right along with the newest version. **You can actually store the app anywhere you want to, I just choose to put it in the same folder as the latest AU to make them easier to locate.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. theelysium macrumors 6502a

    theelysium

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #5
    I get a shell error or a payload error.

    This does not work.

    Do you have a fix?

    What the hell is Apple thinking? God we have older routers that still work, that are made by them! I guess they just don't have faith in their routers lasting this long. They feel then need to exclude a lot of older firmware models.
     
  6. Jefferyd32 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, Or
    #6
    Thanks for the reply's. Luckily my sister hasn't upgraded to ML yet so I just used her Mac to download 5.6 and then copied it onto my machines. Kinda crazy that Apple makes it so hard.
     
  7. drambuie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #7
    My Snow Leopard 15" MBP has 5.6.1, so is it just a matter of copying of copying the Airport Utility.app from the MBP's Utilities folder to the Utilities folder of my 2012 iMac with 10.8.2? I looked at Application Support in the Library, and there was nothing Airport related there.
     
  8. Jefferyd32 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, Or
    #8
    I just copied and pasted the entire program. super simple.
     
  9. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #9
    There is ( /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AirPortBaseStationAgent.launchd and /System/Library/CoreServices/AirPort Base Station Agent.app), but the newer versions do not hurt Airport Utility 5.6.1
     
  10. Sumleilmus macrumors member

    Sumleilmus

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    /
    #10
    dead link

    As noted, the installer refuses to install AU 5.6.1 to ML 10.8.3.

    I get OpenDNS from mmomega's link to the Automator workflow (dead link).

    I see other ways to get the extracted app. However, I have Pacifist, which opens the installer downloaded from Apple, and shows me such files as:

    AirPortUtility.pkg/Applications/Utilities/AirPort Utility.app
    AirPortUtility.pkg/Library/Preferences/com.apple.AirPortBaseStationAgent.launchd
    AirPortUtility.pkg/System/Library/CoreServices/AirPort Base Station Agent.app

    Do I understand correctly that _only_ the Airport Utility.app (v. 5.6.1) needs to be installed at
    /Applications/Utilities/

    ??
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Here is another site with the goods.
     
  12. RMo macrumors 65816

    RMo

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    #12
    That's what I did, and it works for me on Mountain Lion. Of course, I already have version 6 installed (is it pre-packaged with the OS? I forget) if that makes a difference, but I think you should be fine with that.
     

Share This Page