airport wireless, twice...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by fisherking, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #1
    anyone know about this?

    i have an airport express connected to my cable box.
    i have second AE extending the network.

    when i look at the wifi networks (i'm in brooklyn, ny and there are a LOT),
    i see my network listed twice.

    never happened in my previous apartment (same setup).

    is this because of the 2 expresses? there are 2 mac addresses...
     
  2. mainstay macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #2
    when you look at it with what software?

    maybe one is the 5GHz range and the other is the 2.4 GHz ...?
     
  3. fisherking thread starter macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #3
    using 'wifi scanner'. both show 2.4ghz, same name, same channel...
    different mac addresses, different s/n levels.

    any other thoughts? anyone?
     
  4. matspekkie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #4
    That is normal cause you extend the wifi and thus the devices can roam between the to and these have of course have different mac addreses.
    This is normal
     
  5. fisherking thread starter macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #5
    i guess...it never showed up like that in my previous apartment (same setup)..

    ah, well, at least everything works...
     
  6. mainstay macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #6
    you are sure you are extending and not having two separate networks with the same SSID and password?

    might want to compare results against another program like airradar or netstumbler...
     
  7. ezramoore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #7
    If you are using this software: http://download.cnet.com/WiFi-Scanner/3000-18508_4-75017924.html

    You will see two SSIDs (one for each access point, tied to each MAC address).

    That software is a more analytical tool than the one built into OS X.

    OS X (and all versions of Windows) only show one SSID, even if there are multiple APs using it.

    Your computer is designed to roam to the strongest signal (some chipsets/OSs are better than others at doing this).
     
  8. fisherking thread starter macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    thanks, makes sense. and again, everything is working great. was just curious...
     

Share This Page