Airporta express and iPad printing

Discussion in 'iPad' started by leons, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. leons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #1
    For anyone with an airport express, is this possible?

    I already have a stable wireless network. I would like to ADD an airport express to my network (some kind of repeater mode?) and hook a printer to it so I can print from my iPad. Is airport express configurable to do this?
     
  2. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    iPad doesn't print until 4.2 comes out. Whether or not printing works with Airport Express under 4.2? I guess we'll find out!
     
  3. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #3
    Understood. But still looking for an airport express owner to tell me if it is configurable as a "repeater" to interoperate with another wireless router.
     
  4. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    I don't own one but you could just use your older wireless router as a wireless bridge (using DD-WRT) and the airport express as the main one.
    Here is a list of routers that work w/ DD-WRT:
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#TRENDnet

    EDIT: this is full wireless, if you have cables already passing where the 2 is going to be connected is easier and in most routers is easy to configure it w/ a cable connection....
     
  5. Panch0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    Apple calls it "Extending" the wireless network

    Yes, the AirPort Express can "Extend" an existing wireless network, as can the Extreme and the TimeCapsule.

    I've done this with all of the above servicing the same wireless network. In my setup the AirPort Extreme is configured normally as a wireless router, and the Time Capsule and Express both extend the network. This is all brain-dead easy to set up in the AirPort Utility.

    I have no idea if the Express can extend a Wireless network that originates on a non Apple device (Linksys/NetGear/etc), but I have no reason to think it couldn't.
     
  6. steve2237 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #6
    I can confirm that an airport express can extend a network regardless if the network originates from an apple router or not. I used to have an airport express set up to play airtunes, and provide internet to my xbox360, and it was extending a network from a linksys router.
     
  7. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #7
    Thanks guys, just what I wanted to hear. Now I just need to hope that iPad printing will allow a USB connected printer to an airport express connected as the post above this describes! :rolleyes:
     
  8. Scorpio12345 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #8
    I'm actually really interested to know this guys, before picking my iPad up this weekend..

    Does it not work with the PrintCentral app with an airport express connected via USB to a printer WITHOUT the need of another pc/mac?

    Thanks guys!
     
  9. Pomeroy macrumors 6502

    Pomeroy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #9
    I print from my iPad and iPod touch using both a networked wireless printer and a USB printer hooked to an airport express. If the app already supports printing, and some do, should be no problem, also i imagine some of the printing apps in the app store would let you print from other apps also.
     
  10. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #10
    Yeah, but I'm not so sure can do if the Airport Express that the printer is hooked into (via USB) is in Bridge Mode on another (non Apple) wireless network. Others have verified that you CAN bridge an Airport Express even on a non Apple wireless network, but I've yet hear anyone say that iPad apps can still see a printer that is hooked up to an Airport Express configured that way.
     
  11. Pomeroy macrumors 6502

    Pomeroy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #11
    I said it
     
  12. leons thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #12
    Pomeroy, your Airport Express is in bridge mode and bridged to a non-Apple router? Just to be clear, that's the scenario I'm asking about.
     
  13. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #13
    I've attempted this a long time ago with my airport express however it did not work for me cause my printer wasn't compatible.

    Make sure your printer will work with not only airport express, but also have the appropriate drivers and whatnot under your max os x system.

    I've never been able to print wirelessly through airport express, however I have used AirTunes numerous times through airport express and works great.
     
  14. Pomeroy macrumors 6502

    Pomeroy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #14
    My airport express is in the kitchen with a cheap HP USB printer plugged into it, it did have speakers plugged into at one time, my Linksys router is across the house in a bedroom closet. I can print to that printer or any other printer in the house from my iPod touch or iPad. Not many apps will let you print from within them, but you can download a regular printing app to print from other apps.
     
  15. mmendoza27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #15
    Just wanted to let you know, I've confirmed that the iPad can print to a printer connected to an Airport Express through USB. Here is what I did really (it's simple):

    Install Mac OS 10.6.5 on my Mac --> Go to System Preferences under "Print & Fax" and choose "Share this printer on the network". Find a webpage under Safari and attempt to print and select your printer under "Printer". It works flawlessly.

    Keep in mind, if you don't "Share this printer on the network" in System Preferences, the iPad will not be able to find the printer. The iPad cannot find the printer if it's just connected to the Airport Extreme, so really you need an Airport Extreme, Mac OS 10.6.5 and an iPad to get this to work.
     

Share This Page