All iPads Airs and minis and Pros, oh my! AKA another "help me choose" thread.

Discussion in 'iPad' started by bodhimama, Nov 11, 2013.

1. bodhimama macrumors newbie

I know no one can really tell you what is the best fit for you, but find that reading posts here about other people's usage patterns and thought processes has been helpful. Although sometimes more confusing.

So I am a writer by profession. I bought a 2007 Macbook with my first freelancing check. In 2011 it became unusably slow, hot, etc. I got a Mac Mini at that time and moved to desktop, as much of my serious writing work requires a PDF and a composing screen open at the same time (nonfiction). And it requires Scrivener, a Mac app that isn't on iOS yet. Then in July 2012 I got an iPad 2 16GB for $319 refurb. I got a Brydge keyboard for it and it served well as an almost-laptop, only I couldn't really do serious work on it because of the iOS (I multitask) and not having Scrivener, and just the size. I read PDFs, nonfiction and fiction on it, have music streaming on it and plug it into my stereo receiver at home, surf the web, do FB, email, have guitar tabs and tuner on it, do banking and check deposits with it, etc. That kind of thing.

I have an iPhone 3GS on StraightTalk for my cell and find it small and slow, so I really just use it for phone calls, the occasional text, and music in my car via Spotify/bluetooth. I do not have cell coverage at my house as I live in the boonies.

I travel to work each day and write in an office in a coworking space. I had been unplugging the mini, putting it in a padded lunchbox, and taking it with me. Ugh.

So I just got a new 13" retina MB Pro for my primary work machine. The mini will continue to be used on my desktop at home, although it may end up as more of a family computer, I don't know. I use the MB Pro to go to and from the office and when I want to work at home and not sit at a desk, which is often, I use it.