Airtunes through Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Pjr17, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. Pjr17, Jan 24, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  2. vandlism macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    best bet is to get another airport express. the extreme doesn't have any audio-jacks for use with speakers. the express is alone with this feature.
     
  3. zentient macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    USB dongle?

    I wonder if you used a USB audio dongle/interface (eg. Griffin's iMic) whether you could use AirTunes with an Airport Extreme. (I'd like to know, I don't have it set up yet.)
     
  4. L0u1s macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #4
    I had exact the same question in mind...
    I thing that qua hardware it's OK. (USB > 3,5mm jack), but I'm not sure if iTunes (or other software) support this...
    Anyone knows this?
     
  5. bstreiff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #5
    No.

    AirTunes is exclusive to the Airport Expresses.
     
  6. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #6
    It will not work. There ARE other wireless audio systems on the market. But this time Apple's is actually about 1/2 the price of the others ones. Keep an eye on ehte Apple refurb store Airport express units show up there now and then.

    The other idea is to simply pull a wire. People tend to forget about wires. You can pull a wire to any place in a typical house for about 2 hours work. I'd work two hours to save $100. A four foot lonf flexible drill and a 50 foot fish tape makes the work go very fast.

    If you were to hire a phone installer he's charge about $100 an outlet. same as the cost of the AP Express -- and YES it's true Cat-5 wire is great for audio signals. It was actually designed for that purpose
     

Share This Page