Al iMac and WoW

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AppleWoW, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. AppleWoW macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #1
    Hey there MR community! I currently play wow and am in a raiding guild. As of now I play on a old G4 tower case. I normally get 2-4 FPS when in fights during a raid and this can hinder my DPS by alot and even causes deaths! I am looking to purchase a new iMac when leopard comes out. Would a 20" iMac with 4GB of ram run well with all the addons I have running? (about 45MB worth of addons) Anything is appreciated! :apple:
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    At least get the model with the HD 2600 in it.

    It'll be a big boost. ;)
     
  3. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
  4. Maxime macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Montréal
  5. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #5
    As others have said, you'll see a dramatic increase. I play on the first Intel iMac (2 Ghz, 2 GB of RAM) and I get roughly 25-30 FPS with the same amount of add ons. I don't think you'll need 4 GB of RAM but if you have you're heart set on it then I'd say go for it; however, 2 GB should be more than enough.
     
  6. AppleWoW thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #6
    I have my eyes set on the 20" 2.4 ATI 2600 PRO iMac atm and I heard that it would run a bit faster than the 24" due to resolution. I just did the command+I on my interface folder (info) and it says my folder is 1.49GB does that mean I have that much in addons running? (one of my addons says I have 40something MB of addons running) <-- is why I was thinking I needed 4GB
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    Under OSX, the new Alu iMac (2.4/2.25GB w 2600) gets 60+ fps under most situations with full graphics (no AA) at 1680X1050.
     
  8. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #8
    Does anyone know how the iMac's Radeon graphics compare to the 8600M in the MacBook Pro?
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
  10. AppleWoW thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #10
    So with the 20" 2.4 ati 2600 pro with 4GB ram, I should be able to run all the raid mods I have now at a playable frame rate? (30-60 FPS settings maxed)
     
  11. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    I've got a 24" Al with hd2600. I think it's a way better deal. Also now that I have been hearing about 20" screen problems.
     
  12. AppleWoW thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #12
    Besides the screen issue what do you find to be a better deal?
     
  13. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13
    Well the screens nice, but compared to the 20" 2.0 ghz it has a bigger HD and a 2600 standard. But if you are getting the 2.4 ghz 20" then it's just the screen.
     
  14. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #14
    You should be just fine. With my compy on maxed settings I am running about 20-30 fps after the latest updates, however, i was just running a trial account and have never done a raid, so i don't know how much flashy stuff is on the screen and what not, but I am sure you will be very happy with a system that you are describing. Actually my old housemate is going to get one like that next week, i'm trying to convince him to wait until leopard comes out to save $130, but he's in the navy and said he just wants to have a computer. It will be his first mac, i'm happy i could convince him to get it. I just wish I could trade him mine when he gets it.:D:apple:
     
  15. ijimk macrumors 6502a

    ijimk

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Here
    #15
    Im sure you will be happy with your purchase. If you can afford it grab it up.:D
     
  16. AppleWoW thread starter macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #16
    Im thinking that the 20" 2.4 will be a wonderful machine and the extra 2GB of memory should help me run WoW with all my addons to its fullest!
     
  17. gamerz macrumors 6502

    gamerz

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    #17
    I recently bought a 20 inch 2.4ghz with the 2600HD. It runs 60 fps constantly outdoors, 50 in battlegrounds. I have never done anything to intense yet, but im sure it will play fine also.

    The only addon I am running is the titanpanel, and it still runs great with only 1G of RAM.
     
  18. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #18
    You're right that the machine you're looking at will be great but I don't really think you need to upgrade the RAM to 4 GB. If you have your heart set on it by all means do it but 40 MB's of add ons isn't that big of a deal. I remember having close to 100 MB's of add ons running at one point and I never saw a difference in gameplay from when I played with zero add ons. As long as you get 2 GB's of RAM you'll have more than enough. Good luck on your purchase.
     
  19. Hydra macrumors regular

    Hydra

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    So is it actually possible to play a game (for example WoW) on the new al iMac without constant crashes? I've seen nothing but people complaining that they crash all the time even with the new drivers and firmware updates.
     
  20. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #20
    Yeah even a Mac Mini would be a boost for you.

    I have a 20" iMac and it's awesome, you wont regret it.
     
  21. IscariotJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    There's a thread on the WoW forums about this. A work around that seems to have success, is to run the game in windowed mode, and use /maxfps.

    I'm holding off ordering a 20" iMac until Apple fix this issue ( or it's confirmed as not effecting Leopard ).
     
  22. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #22
    On my iMacs I've had one issue with freezing and it is to do with WoW. It only happens when the video card is hot and I enter and exit windowed mode. I may repatch WoW to solve this. Given the freezing I have heard on top end cards running games in PCs, I think this issue is (for me) small beer. YMMV.
     
  23. IscariotJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Tis a driver issue, according to Blizzard ( and confirmed by Apple who claim to be working on the issue ). They recommend running in windowed mode, for the time being. If you're interested, see here. There's some useful settings mentioned....

    Apple need to get a grip. Reading through the WoW forums ( though the issues aren't only WoW-based, Second Life, also suffers ), there are issues with the Al iMacs, and with the SR MBP's, all related to video drivers.
     
  24. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #24
    Those folks on the Warcraft forums sure have more problems than I do. Mine only crashes (touch wood) going into and out of windowed mode. The ATI drivers have a problem for sure but as the latest Windows versions from ATI have shown, its not something that cannot be overcome. Let's hope Apple presses a little harder on ATI since they are providing the bulk of the work.
     
  25. FullCollapse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    Oneonta, NY
    #25
    i have a white imac and i WoW runs just fine on my computer. you'll definitely be good with one of the new ones :)
     

Share This Page