Alarm Clock

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by marcmarcdv, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. marcmarcdv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #1
    How Come When the IPhone is Turn Off The Alarm Clock Doesnt work?

    Is there way to make it work when the fone is off?
     
  2. otherorange macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #2
    Very few things work when they are turned off. Just leave it on overnight if you want the alarm to function. I use my iPhone for an alarm clock every night.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Tap Power to shut the screen off. Voila.
     
  4. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #4
    What is the point of turning the phone off at night? This is the best time to get a full charge and optimize your battery's performance.
     
  5. Resist macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    Don't turn it off, just put it in sleep mode and the alarm will still work.
     
  6. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    This is what I do as well.
     
  7. andreab35 macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    I have my phone charging right next to me every night. When morning comes, the alarm wakes me up and I have a fully charged battery for the day. When u go to bed, the iPhone goes back on the charger.
    Same routine every night. :)
     
  8. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    Who turns a cell phone off? I either have mine on standby/sleep (with the display off) or the same sitting in my dock. The only reason to turn any phone off is if you MUST conserve power for some reason (you forgot a charger on a flight) or to reset the software. Otherwise, you're just like my parents whose phones I pay for but often can't reach because they haven't figured out silent switches. ::facepalm::
     
  9. ILBandit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #9
    If your turning it off to avoid someone calling, or it ringing during the night, just switch it into airplane mode. That way no calls, or texts will come through, and the alarms will still work fine.
     
  10. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #10
    You don't even have to do this. Just switch off the ringer (silence switch next to volume buttons). This silences everything (noises from click keyboard, text alerts, phone calls, voice mail alerts), but the alarm clock.
     
  11. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #11
    But the phone still vibrates. And a vibrating phone can wake you up.

    It's easier to put it in airplane mode than it is to turn vibrate off every night.
     
  12. Slayerboym88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #12
    Then why don't you just turn off the vibrate function for sleep mode?
     
  13. Hardcoredan52 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    A couple of different guys at the apple told me that you should power off your phone every once in a while.. It resets some of the functions of the phone.. Helps it run smoother. I don't know just what I was told...
     
  14. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #14
    Yeah, what he said. Turn off vibrate! I have my iPhone sounds-proof when I am sleeping. The only sound that could ever come out of it is the alarm going off.

    I don't ever have to worry about this. My iPhone has a built-in function where it will freeze about once per week. This will force me to do a hard reset. :D
     

Share This Page