Alarm/Wireless/.exe

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by thelordmeatball, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. thelordmeatball macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    U.S.
    #1
    To all,

    Is there an alarm function on OS X.

    Can I take a generic USB adapter and run it on OS X.

    How do I get .exe and other files/CDs to install on OS X. Mainly CS3 as I have the CD for it, but obviously cannot run it.

    So recap,

    Wireless Adapter/Alarm Function/Can I Easily Run .EXE

    Thanks In Advance,

    --:DMeaty:D--
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You don't. You find Mac-equivalent programs.

    Define USB adapter. :confused:

    Alarm? Sure. There are also applications to give you more customization of said function.
     
  3. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #3
    What's at the other end of this USB adapter?
     
  4. thelordmeatball thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    U.S.
    #4
    Mac ppl R Quick!

    Hey guys,

    Thanks for the quick response.

    The USB adapter is just that, its like a thumbdrive, it has a program from a CD to install the adapter though, thats why I need to know how to run .exe files.

    Where is the alarm program located.

    Currently I dont have the net on the imac, so if I need to DL something I can do that on my XP laptop right? As long as I DL it in the right format.

    Also has anyone had any luck with DAR-WINE? The "wine" emu for OS X.

    Thanks in advance,

    --:DMeaty:D--
     
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    If it's just a USB flash drive, plug it in. It will work instantaneously.

    .EXE files cannot run on a Mac. For future programs contained as .EXE's, you'll need to find a Mac version of the same thing or equivalent.
     
  6. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #6
    There is no need to install the software that came with your flash drive. I always just delete it. Just plug the flash drive into your Mac and you should see it mount on your desktop (or on the left side of your Finder windows).
     
  7. thelordmeatball thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    U.S.
    #7
    Clarification

    Hey,

    Sorry, its NOT a thumbdrive. But thats all there is to it, its a USB Wireless G USB Adapter. Its an all in one kind of deal, there is a CD that comes with it that is the wirless finder (like airport/Windows Wireless Zero Config).

    So is my only option for Wless to go out and buy an Airport basestation?
     
  8. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    If you can find drivers (search the internet) for your USB WiFi adapter that support OS X then you should be good. If not you'll have to find an alternative adapter that does work with OS X.
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    You... would need a router even with that USB adapter... which you don't need ANYWAY, because the iMac has Wi-Fi built in.

    The iMac has Wi-Fi built in. You don't need the USB adapter.

    You DO need whatever router you want to broadcast your wireless, though, because what purpose does the USB thing serve except for giving wireless capabilities to computers that don't have them (unlike the iMac)?
     
  10. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #10
    Why would you use a Wireless USB adapter, doesn't the Mac already have wireless? It should, unless it's really, really old.
     
  11. thelordmeatball thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    U.S.
    #11
    Im cheap

    Its a G3.....hehehehe

    Whats the file that MACs DL? I cant remember.

    And has anyone heard/used Dar-wine?
     
  12. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #12
    What kind of Mac do you have? If your Mac is at all recent (by that I mean up to 5 years old) you do not need that adapter, unless you have a Mac Pro or Power Mac - all recent Macs except the Mac Pro/Power Mac come with integrated Wireless-G. Some of the newer ones have Wireless-N too. And no, an AirPort base station would provide you with an access point to connect to, not wireless support for your computer, which doesn't sound at all like what you're looking for.
    Darwine, at least in its original incarnation, was a project to make Windows apps work on Mac OS X/PowerPC, through Wine and QEMU. It worked, but ran very slowly. It has since switched focus and now only works on Intel Macs.
     
  13. thelordmeatball thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    U.S.
    #13
    Clarification 2nd Round

    First off,

    You guys are all awesome, thanks for the responses.

    I have a g3 350mhz. I traded a guy on Clist a copy of Rainbow 6 : Vegas for it.
     

Share This Page