Album Art

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bthompson, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. bthompson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Hi there. After updating my apple tv, album art won't show up when I stream music. Every now and then it will pop up for a song then go away. Is this a bug? It's weird because it's playing songs on the same album.
     
  2. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #2
    Are these itunes purchased songs or your own?

    If they are your own, did you get the album artwork from iTunes? If so, the artwork is not embedded in each file like in the iTunes purchased songs.

    You can use a free AppleScript to embed the artwork into each song file but it can be a tedious process.
     
  3. clarkie604 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #3
    My AppleTV 2 displays all cover art fine even after the 4.4 update -- and I have music from iTunes, from other sources with cover art downloaded from iTunes, and with cover art I found online and attached via iTunes.

    All display fine on AppleTV.

    Don't know what the prior poster is talking about.
     
  4. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #4
    I wasn't assuming it was a music file problem, but an iTunes AppleTV problem.

    By learning more about the troubled files, it's easier to troubleshoot. Finding out which way the files were obtained and along with their artwork, leads to a better understanding of the software glitch.

    I know that under normal circumstances, it shouldn't matter if the artwork is embedded.
     
  5. testerdennis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    #5
    I have the same problem.
     
  6. machpost macrumors 6502

    machpost

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    I was having the same problem intermittently after I updated to 4.4, but 4.4.2 seems to have fixed it so far.
     

Share This Page