Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FrankieTDouglas

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 10, 2005
So, I'm a photographer. I'm also a redhead. I've merged the two worlds together before in a fictional photography project that presented a world where redheads united to fight back against the world of everyone else, to finally retaliate against the bullying and jokes. I've went on to feature the project in artist talks that I give at schools and conferences.

That was a few years ago. I've decided now to return to the redhead idea for a new project. For the first time, I'm doing something that is closer to documentary rather than fictionalized drama. While I'm piecing all of the ideas together, I thought I'd bring the topic up as a thread.

What is your opinions on redheads? Have you ever given the topic much thought? Even if you're not a redhead, I'd love to hear your opinions. If you are a redhead, do you feel there's anything unique about your life experiences or etc?

Suspended
Jan 18, 2005
What's the difference between a redhead and ginger? I always thought that Redheads were dyed red, whilst ginger was natural orange hair and freckles. In the UK it's the latter that gets ridiculed.

Sounds like a good idea for a project.

FrankieTDouglas

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 10, 2005
Ginger is the term more frequently used in the UK (Europe in general, really), but it means the same thing as a redhead. Personally, I use the redhead term most frequently, but I feel they're interchangeable. I hear "redhead" more frequently here in the States.