All my apps running in the background... WTF

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by BigKyle, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. BigKyle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #1
    ok, so is there a way to "close" and app instead of it "minimizing" in the background

    I know you can double tap home, hold an icon, and then close it that way"

    but this is quite the hastle doing this every time i exit an app..

    and im sure the more apps you have in your "minimize tray" the faster your battery drains... correct?

    have you guys found any way to close an app with out it minimizing? or even an magic "remove all" button to close all open apps...

    im on iphone 3gs os4

    Let me know
    Thanks
    Kyle
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    No.

    They aren't running. They're just sitting there, unless it's a specially designed multitasking app.
     
  3. wentwj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #3
    All apps do not run in the background.

    The double tap is a "recent" application list. Most apps just use fast-switching, which does not use any additional resources.

    The only apps that "run" in the background are pandora, skype, things like that that you'd clearly know was running. Some apps can also do short term tasks like finishing downloading or some light processing, but almost nothing runs in the background in a traditional sense.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    You're not understanding the concept. The iPhone isn't running all of your programs in the background.

    Apps that are written to take advantage of the 7 APIs to multitask will, but the clear majority of apps will be suspended not consuming any resources. I'd not worry about what's in the memory - the system will free up memory as needed.
     
  5. jclardy macrumors 68040

    jclardy

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #5
    No, the "multitasking" bar is just a recently used apps list. None of the apps in the bar are using any CPU resources so the battery is not affected. Apps that seem to switch faster do so because they have their state saved and restored quickly by the OS.

    The only exception is in certain apps like Pandora, which actually run in the background if you leave it playing. And to stop Pandora you just press the pause button and it will no longer be running in the background.

    So basically you do not need to use the minus button in the task bar.
     
  6. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #6
    Someone needs to watch the keynote on Apple's website. :)
     
  7. PecanEater macrumors 6502

    PecanEater

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #7
    It's a non issue. There are multiple threads about this. The apps aren't "running" in the background. Unless you have something using one of the background APIs - streaming audio, GPS - it won't be using any extra power. The fast switcher is basically a history list.

     
  8. dmelgar macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #8
    Good question, I've been wondering that too.
    What happens when you run out of memory? Will is close the oldest program for you? Does it save the state when it does that?
     
  9. xmtgx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #9
    Good reader you are...
     
  10. tknice macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #10
    You can tap hold the icons when the multitask bar is up and remove them if you like.
     
  11. taran420 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #11
    if you wanna get rid of programs from the bar, just press and hold an app on the bar and then a - sign will show up, touch that and they will be deleted from the multitask bar only
     
  12. BigKyle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #12
    ok cool... thanks for the clarification...

    i just thoguh say like bejewled 2 or angry birds... you tube something like that, i can minimize it, and when i open it back up from the tray, its exactly where i left it (middle of a round, video ect ect.. ...

    just seemed to me like it was "suspended" but still somewhere in the background
     

Share This Page