All my files are GONE!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cjromb, May 24, 2009.

1. cjromb macrumors newbie

I was using SynchroSVNClient and Mac VIM. I had accidently saved a file named ~ when I was in MacVIM. In SynchroSVNClient, I chose to delete this file. I don't know if this is some special character to the Mac or something, but as soon as I let it delete, it deleted EVERYTHING, and I mean EVERYTHING! My background on my desktop, all files on my desktop, everything under all my document areas, my recently taken movie of my 97 year old gma and I (not backed up yet) EVERYTHING! I reboot, it's lost my settings for the bottom docking bar.

I'm new to Mac, but I'm NOT new to computers. This is a bad, bad bug in my opinion that deleting a file with a goofy name like that would cross over to the operating system and do that kind of damage.

Is there anyway for me to recover this data???

CJ

2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

~ is not a file with a goofy name in UNIX systems ... it is the user's home folder. This is not a bug, it just deleted your home folder, exactly as you told it to.

Might it be in the Trash still?

3. Ivan P macrumors 68030

Ivan P

On a Mac (and most if not all UNIX systems, I believe), '~' stands for the home folder (basically the folder that contains all your documents, music, videos, preferences, etc). Even though your home folder would be represented by your username in Finder (for example, my home folder is automatically named 'ivan'), it is recognised by the system as '~' instead (for example, ~/Documents refers to the documents folder in my home folder). It seems that you told it to delete your home folder.

EDIT: looks like r.j.s. beat me, that's what I get for spending a few minutes making an explanation :p

4. Cerebrus' Maw macrumors 6502

What he said. When the ~ was encountered, it probably wasent escaped, and so it kept its UNIX meaning and the file path was reset back to home, and then deleted.