Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dschiller

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 7, 2007
Hi all!

I really wanna buy one of the new iMacs, but I'm a bit scared of buying it with a glossy screen. I am NOT a pro user, and I don't really care about color accuracy, etc, and if the glossy screen enhances seeing pictures or watching movies with its greater crispness and contrast, I find that a good thing.

I wasn't worried at all about it, but then I decided to take a look at Apple Discussions to see what people were saying about it and there are a lot of posts saying that the glossy screen is bad even for non-pro users, one poster even claiming that after just 15 minutes of working with a glossy screen your eyes start to hurt.

As I said I'm not interested in color accuracy, but I want my display to be usable (I spend many hours in front of the computer). Will the glare be so bad I'm not gonna be able to use it?

I made a quick sketch of how it would be positioned in my bedroom:

roomsketchzj4.jpg

(the display would be facing the chair - and the window, which can be partially or totally covered with the curtains, but I wouldn't like to have to do that)

I could of course position it where my current PC is, but I'd rather not do it, for I'd never be able to see its back (which I think looks great). I could of course wait for the possible option of a matte screen by Apple, but I've already been waiting for so long for this computer to be released that I really don't want to..

Sorry if I wrote too much:eek:

Cheers
Daniel

P.S.: Before it is suggested I do so, I can't go see a new iMac on display, because there aren't any stores that displays Macs in my country.

grafikat

macrumors 6502a
Dec 5, 2003
Your best bet would just be to go to an Apple Store. Tell them you want to test the mac with different lighting (in the store!). It's the only way to be certain.

addz

macrumors member