Alle the GM users - please report your RAM stats here!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by mabaker, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. mabaker macrumors 65816

    mabaker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #1
    I would be very interested to see your screenshots of Lion's RAM usage.

    Is it good, bad? Better than Leo or SL?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Jerome Morrow macrumors 6502a

    Jerome Morrow

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  3. idkmybffjon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #4
    under 1gb here, it has come a long way since the first beta, the GM seems to be very good at managing resources. if you do find safari using a ton of RAM i suggest you look at your extensions/plugins those are almost always the culprit.
     
  4. zin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Could you elaborate? Which Mac do you have? How much RAM? Could you post screenshots of your Activity Monitor in Lion?
     
  5. ovrlrd macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #6
    Under 1GB here as well on a fresh boot with no apps running.
     
  6. MacBookPro13" macrumors 6502a

    MacBookPro13"

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Using around 3-4% of my 4GB of RAM with just Safari open.
     
  7. kftrainer macrumors regular

    kftrainer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #8
    I am at 280mb with Chrome running with 2 gb of memory
     
  8. MacBookPro13" macrumors 6502a

    MacBookPro13"

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9

    Attached Files:

  9. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #10
    Mac Mini Early 2009 2ghz duo core 2 4gb ram 9400m graphics.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Kariya macrumors 68000

    Kariya

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    #11
    Using 3.10GB. Only have Twitter, Firefox, iTunes, Adium and VLC on.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. zin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Is this normal with Safari in Lion? Is it more of a RAM "guzzler" than in Snow Leopard?
     
  12. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
  13. mabaker thread starter macrumors 65816

    mabaker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #14
    Thank you everyone for your input. It does seem to use more RAM than SL unfortunately. :confused:

    Keep them coming guys!
     
  14. mabaker thread starter macrumors 65816

    mabaker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
  15. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    Screen Shot 2011-07-04 at 1.36.48 AM.png
    To give you an idea of over time with apps running.
     
  16. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #18
    Safari, Mail, Things, Adium, Versions, Firefox 5, iScrobbler, Skitch, Dropbox and of course Activity Monitor open.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
  18. Jerome Morrow macrumors 6502a

    Jerome Morrow

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    2 GB RAM used here (it's running since i posted it was using 1 GB). Too much i think + it's slower than Snow Leopard.
     
  19. arteggio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #21
    2.5GB free of 8GB.

    What I find truly impressive is that I have no page outs — no swap being used at all.

    About two weeks ago in Snow Leopard, I upgraded my RAM from 6 to 8, reducing my usual swap of 512MB down to 256MB.

    Now I have about the same amount of processes running as I usually did in SL, yet the current swap limit is 64MB, with none used. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #22
    MacBook Air 2,1 with 2GB of RAM.

    Running Mail, Safari, Twitter, and Reeder.

    Screen Shot 2011-07-04 at 9.21.05 AM.png
     
  21. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #23
    Just for fun I checked mine just now on 3gb ram. Swap is 2.66 GB

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Jerome Morrow macrumors 6502a

    Jerome Morrow

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #24
    I have 4 GB RAM and i have never seen SWAP go above 64 MB (this second it's 7 MB).
     
  23. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #25
    Now you have :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page