Allocate Storage and clean it...

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by dirtnnasty, Dec 29, 2013.

1. dirtnnasty macrumors member

I am new with MacOS and I have a problem where I need your help:

My SSD is becoming full and I don't know what it is...
    At my screenshot you can see, at Macintosh HD is a "Backup" but there should be no Backup... 50Gigs?!??!?! How can I find this... I used SupaView but it fails with this 50gigs (supaView is working and working and don't stop anymore).

Then I made every file visible in terminal but I didn't find anything too...

I Cannot make a fresh install because I don't have the installation file (actually I am living in an area with weak internet connection and loading in recovery lasts 15hours)...

Please help me...

edit:

on the left window you can see, there is 71gigs free (=frei) and 44gigs used (=belegt)... on the right window you can see "Backup"...

Attached Files:

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Download and use OmniDiskSweeper. It will provide a sorted list of what's consuming your space.

3. dirtnnasty thread starter macrumors member

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

That doesn't make sense. OmniDisk is reporting only 31GB of storage but your OP shows a 251GB SSD (am I correct on that)

5. dirtnnasty thread starter macrumors member

I don't know whats going on...

Attached Files:

6. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I see what's going on, though I'm not sure how you got in that situation.

Space used
    Boot camp 20 GB
    Macintosh HD 115 GB
    Macintosh HD 114 GB

Total space 249 GB.

So you have to OSX volumes named Macintosh HD and Macintosh HD 2. There's also a small bootcamp volume to run windows or another non OSX operating system, i.e., Linux.

There's a TimeMachine attached to your computer as well,I'm assuming that's an external drive correct?

Any idea how you created two OSX volumes?

7. dirtnnasty thread starter macrumors member