Almost no Free Momery, huge Inactive

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Pborowka, Apr 28, 2010.

1. Pborowka macrumors newbie

Hi to all of you,

I', very new in this forum, as well with MAC OS
    I know - you will call me ......... No problem

But I have significant problem with my MBP with Snow Leo

Please check this link

You can find all processes going on in my system
    All are sorted by Virtual Mem

The most important is on the end

Free: 45mb
    Wired:
    Active:
    InActive: 1.01 GB

You will find Photoshop running - as a photographer I need a lot of memory, and CPU power

If you have any clues, please let me know....

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

3. Pborowka thread starter macrumors newbie

ok, I understood

But - Why my mac with those running applications is very slow

There was a time when I was working fluently (changes in real time) with over 200 RAW files in Camera RAW (Photoshop CS4), Brigde, Firefox and other running in background

Now 3 RAWs in Camera RAW and any small changes comming after few seconds rainbow wheel

Like I wrote - I don't know system well, I prefer to ask then kill my work

Thanks

4. iSee macrumors 68040

iSee

You are a ........! ;)

Both "Free" and "Inactive" memory is available for use by applications that need more memory. You aren't running out of memory.

5. snberk103 macrumors 603

It is possible the programs you are using to edit the RAW files need to be optimized. Perhaps they have cache files that need clearing, etc.

Photoshop needs a large space on your hard drive for it's scratch file. It is best to put the Photoshop scratch file on a separate disk (if possible) that is used for nothing else.

Lightroom needs to have it's catalogue file optimized occasionally.

I guess what I am saying is that slow downs may be because of the specific programs and not OS X.