Alright, Preparing for 4.1 JB takeoff, just want to double check...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Krafty, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #1
    I know some of ya'll gon' get at my balls for this, but hopefully someone may shed some light below the angry comments to just make sure everythings good to go. Reason I say this is because I have a lot of stuff on my phone and I just want to make sure it'll be the same, or if I should just stay on 4.0.1. Only help me on this if you got some free time, I'm pretty educated on this stuff but it doesn't hurt to get some second opinions, and if it does... sucks, I'll ship you some ice cream to put on it.

    Alright, so first I backed up my entire themes library just in case, I heard Winterboard is iffy on some but for the most part it works so I guess I'll find out the hard way. Got all my SHSH's all the way from 4.0 via TinyUmbrella, and I don't need to unlock but if preserving the BB is better I will do so.

    I read the thread on 4.1 JB apps that don't work, and didnt see these listed and just asking for some confirmation (this aint all of them but I dont think ya'll would appreciate that, so I tried listing the things i use most):
    Backgrounder v svn.r558-1(I saw the warning about putting this on 4.1, anyone have any success?)
    Cyntact v1.4.1-1
    Moble Substrate v0.9.3228-1
    NoSpot v0.5
    PkgBackup v4.0.5
    AppBackup v1.0.10-1
    LockInfo v2.3.7.19
    Remove Recents v1.0
    Rename II v2.0
    SBSettings v3.1.0-1(I hear its a bit dodgy but I'm not sure)
    SwitcherPlus v2.2
    Gridlock v1.2.3-2 (NEED this DEFINITELY)
    Activator v1.4.6 (I hear this isn't working)

    Thank you if you can give me a quick HEY or NAY on those. Few more small questions:

    So for PkgBackup, I have already ran it, so all I have to do is connect to iTunes and let it sync and thats it?

    Already ran AppBackup as well as SpringBack cause I really altered my homescreen. So just running and hitting backup should be fine, correct?

    I've heard that you can do an upgrade to 4.1 & JB, is that possible or do I have to do the restore & JB (simple yes or no, don't lite my balls on fire, please)?

    I'm planning to use GreenP as its out for Mac now, there as talk of Pwnage tool today, is that still happening cause if so I may just wait for that?


    Thank you for your time.
     
  2. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #2
    I´ve got an iPhone4 4.1 JB using:
    Activator 1.4.6
    Nospot 0.5
    Mobile Substrate 0.9.3228-1
    SBSettings 3.1.0-1
    SwitcherPlus 2.2
    and some others like winterboard, 5 icon dock, slantedlock, no clock...

    im superhappy with my phone and im extremely picky with stuff, its fast and responsive and overall very good :D

    I have always upgraded to avoid having to reinstall apps and stuff, never had any problems, used pkgbackup but manually installed after

    this JB I used limera1n rc3 (win)
     
  3. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #3
    Alright, cool. Here goes.

    I think I'm gonna preserve my BB just in case, maybe one day I might sell it so I figured unlockable it better then non.
     
  4. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #4
    mine is factory unlocked from Belgium (the wife has cousins there) so the unlocks arent for me...
     
  5. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #5
    I see, I don't need it either but it shouldn't hurt.

    Here goes nothing.
     
  6. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
  7. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #7
    if you upgrade not using tinyUmbrella, there shouldnt be any problem upgrading.. it may take a little more effort if you want to preserve bb
    most of the time its your hosts-file messing with the upgrade
     
  8. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
  9. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
  10. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
  11. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #11
    Upgrade.

    Should probably restore then, right?
     
  12. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #12
    Doing a restore is the easiest and most reliable way to go. I personally did not use TinyUmbrella to preserve the baseband because I'm on AT&T anyway. You can easily reinstall the Cydia apps. When I re-installed mine, all the existing information (e.g. iBlacklist numbers) were preserved.

    You do have more Cydia apps that I, though. TinyUmbrella has just been updated, so a download of that may come in handy.
     
  13. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #13
    well i upgraded mine from 4.0.2 and got 4.1 with the 2.something baseband.. before my upgrade i deleted the cydia-server from hosts (had tu save my 4.1 shsh locally)
    got no error...
    did an upgrade for a friend preserving the bb, got the error that is solved by kicking out of recovery (dont remember the number)
     
  14. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #14
  15. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #15
    I used PkgBackup, AppBackup, and Springback all to bakcup my stuff, as well as manually backing up my Themes library. I'm also going to restore from my previous iPhone backup anyways.

    Looks like that was the problem, though. Restore seems to be going smooth now.

    Rrror 1600, its suppose to get that when using TU.
    Yes. I have the latest version. Upgrading wouldn't work, but it's restoring now.
     
  16. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #16
    Also I don't think springback works on ios4.1 It wouldn't work for me anyway
     
  17. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #17
    How? It launched and backuped up fine for me.

    Right now iTunes is showing the loading progress bar, iPhone is sitting at what looks to be 60-70% and TU just displayed
    For about 10 minutes, just keep waiting?
     
  18. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #18
    i have also restored another ip4 from a downloaded .ipsw.. pretty sure all i did with tinyU was kick out of recovery
     
  19. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #19
    I just noticed in TU 4.1.8 theres no option to do that.
     
  20. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #20
    I had saved my 4.1 SHSH with Cydia and did not remove them as the host. No errors.
     
  21. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
  22. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #22
    The latest TU is 4.1.9 and it's on the first screen at the bottom right.
     
  23. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #23
    I said it didn't work in 4.1 for me, meaning, yeah it backs up everything fine in 4.0 or 4.0.1 or whatever, but after you update, it doesn't restore. Nothing changes when you hit restore - therefore, doesn't work in 4.1. Maybe it will work for you though.
     
  24. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #24
    Another update?!

    Why doesn't it have an option to check for one on starup?
     
  25. Fabricman112 macrumors regular

    Fabricman112

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #25
    wasnt sure which bb I was gonna get so i removed it...
     

Share This Page