Alternative window switcher

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Walter Jr., Aug 10, 2014.

1. Walter Jr. macrumors newbie

I'm a new MacBook Pro user since a month and, well, so far I really like it.

My background is web developer with much Linux background. Funnily though, I've mostly/exclusively been using Windows as Desktop machines (albeit it usually was just my terminal gateway to various VMs/servers).

My biggest gripe with the default Window switcher: it only switches between applications and not windows. I know about CMD-` but I'm used to have a visual guide what exact windows are there (and a preview image of their content, etc.). As you can see, form this description, it's a typical Coming-From-Windows problem. I did already some research and tested various things and I understand that I've to do a few things The-Mac-Way but I'm not yet at the point of giving up.

The best software I've found so far is HyperSwitch ( http://bahoom.com/hyperswitch ). It works almost like I want it but on multi-screen setups it shows the Window-Switcher always on the active instead of the primary screen (I'm used to always automatically look at the primary screen when I hit CMD-Tab). I tried to contact the author on some other issue but I never received feedback.

In combination with Spectacle ( https://github.com/eczarny/spectacle ) I've an almost perfect mirroring of the Windows behavior which allows me to be very productive (e.g. using keys for maximizing windows or positioning them on the left/half of a screen).

Regarding the window switcher, it's important for me to have a visual feedback. Looking at some apple.stackexchange suggestions, there are a lot of tools but they all work in a way I don't want them. Some example question form there:
    - http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/9659/what-window-management-options-exist-for-os-x
    - http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...etween-all-open-windows-alternatives-to-witch