Alu Macbook - COD4 Settings?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by nope7308, Dec 30, 2008.

1. nope7308 macrumors 65816

nope7308

I've heard that COD 4 is demanding from a hardware perspective, so what are the best settings for optimal play? That is, where is the balance between good FPS and 'eye candy' (for lack of a better term)? My configuration is in my sig and COD 4 should be arriving today in the mail.

Keep in mind that I'm a complete noob with gaming... this is my first game in over 5(ish) years. I'm really excited in a nerdy kind of way!

Thanks for the help!

2. Scuall macrumors newbie

New to Macs, but I've been a competitive PC gamer for years. The specs for COD4 were really not that demanding as it was developed in DirectX 9. Gaming is much, much more GPU dependent, do you happen to know what that is for your rig?

FWIW, I always detract from recommended settings in order to get more frames per second. In competitive play, it's quite the norm to run at lowest settings even on high end rigs. Kinda cheap, especially when game designed "dark areas" are bright as day. If you're going to play single player, and COD4 does have an excellent one at that, play at a resolution that makes you happy. Adjust the AA if your computer can handle it. You'll prolly need to tone it down if you're going to play online.

3. ChrisN macrumors 65816

ChrisN

First try medium settings with AA off, if it isn't smooth then go low but if it does feel smooth turn AA on at 2x. Also, put the res on the 2nd lowest one.

ChrisN

4. nope7308 thread starter macrumors 65816

nope7308

Thanks for the replies, but I have a few follow-up questions.