Aluminum keyboard-F12 issues

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Reciprocity, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. Reciprocity macrumors newbie

    Reciprocity

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario
    #1
    I just bought the new aluminum keyboard. It's great and it feels really comfotable due to the fact that its lower than my previous one. The only problem is that the F12 button does not respond(I use it for opening dashboard).
    I've enabled the fn key for the characters printed on top of the F1-F12 keys, but the F12 button only works for for volume change. Does anyone else have this problem, and is there a solution for that?
    Also I had a similar problem on my Macbook pro when ever I would use Aperture, is there a conflict some where?.:confused:
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Are you saying that neither F12 nor Fn-F12 triggers dashboard, despite F12 being set to do this?
     
  3. Reciprocity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Reciprocity

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario
    #3
    Yes neither work..the only thing that I can do is change the volume while pressing fn.
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Hmmm... Are you using Canadian, Canadian French, US English, or other? I've heard that there are some bugs in some of the international profiles of the new keyboards... you might change to US English for a second and see if it works like you expect in that profile. Not saying you should have to use your computer in the US/English layout, but... it would tell you what the problem is.
     
  5. Reciprocity thread starter macrumors newbie

    Reciprocity

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario
    #5
    My keyboard layout is Canadian English..I just tried Us English and extended, but no change..It seems like the problem is deeper..Thanks:)
     
  6. moreover macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #6
    By now your problem was probably resolved: Apple issued a software update just for the keyboard which fixed it.
     

Share This Page