Aluminum Macbook Hinge hairline cracks........

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by John01021988, Jul 4, 2009.

1. John01021988 macrumors 6502

Yep..... Just when I thought I finally ran away from my old white macbook hairline cracks, I noticed today that 3 small cracks have appeared in the black plastic hinge screen part, just below where it says "Macbook". I think it might be caused by the heat exhaust. Any Comments?

Pics will be posted later.....

2. vilim12 macrumors regular

I just checked mine, no cracks here. Post up some pics

3. Buskape macrumors 6502

Buskape

That's weird, because I have been using my unibody macbook for 8 months now and i don't have any crack, i don't baby it, i don't take care of it, I'm not gentle with it and it doesn't have a single crack.

Only protection i use to carry it around is a tucano second skin sleeve.

Can't wait to see your pics, maybe visit an applestore and see if you can get it fixed under warranty.

4. John01021988 thread starter macrumors 6502

You gotta zoom to see them below where it says Macbook

Attached Files:

5. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia

Yeah man, I see it. Wouldn't bother me too much, although it shouldn't happen and you could probably get that fixed. I don't see how a consumer could cause that through rough handling.

6. firewater macrumors regular

Man that really sucks if Apple doesn't cover it. I would take it to apple and have them fix thats **** for free:)...Good luck with that.

7. John01021988 thread starter macrumors 6502

Yeah Ill take it to the store and see if I can get it fixed. Does anyone knows if that part is separate from the screen or you will have to swap the whole screen casing to replace the hinge?

8. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

iLog.Genius

I believe it's a separate part, apart from the screen.

9. sparkomatic macrumors 6502a

sparkomatic