Aluminum macbook Playing Through Crossfire

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by mynameisadam, Jan 1, 2009.

  1. mynameisadam macrumors member

    mynameisadam

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #1
    recently, i downloaded and played through cross fire such as CS:S and Company of Heroes.

    i also played WoW, Warcraft 3 and many blizzard titles.

    the problem is i baught through steam Company of heroes, i thought because CS:S ran so great through highest settings i thought it would be the same for company of heroes.

    i was wrong. The Game played horribly, i couldnt see my own soldiers hp i had no bottom half of the screen, i couldnt even use and any moves, or see icons but the terrain and the units on it even than i could see black spots where the video card couldnt render. my macbook is the new unibody with 2.4 ghz and 4gb ram anyway to fix this? i tried lowering settings and etc but didnt help and i know it isnt something like too little GPU. so now i gotta go buy vista to play this >: (.

    BTW can anyone tell me what OpenGL is? iv been reading it up and cant really get my head around it on how to use or where to even download or if its even preinstalled : S
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    No, you don't have to buy Vista. Just get XP. And why would you think that CoH would play like CS:S :D CS:S is built on the oldest of the Source engines from 2003ish.

    Big games+crossover don't mix I'm afraid. To get the best performance you'll be needing XP.
     
  3. killasapo macrumors member

    killasapo

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Land Of The SnowBirdzz
    #3
    agreed XP for the win (unless of course you wanna play halo 2 then by all means install Vista lol)

    CrossOver (not CrossFire Lmao i had to point that out) is always behind the curve

    I've also noticed that if you look at the wine project's page there's a couple of games on there that crossover doesn't support just yet so i guess that's a nice way of getting a lil gimp's of the future ;)

    http://appdb.winehq.org/index.php
     
  4. mynameisadam thread starter macrumors member

    mynameisadam

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    #4
    but wouldnt vista be greater for direct x10 :S?
     
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    No, for one Vista will pinch performance slightly and the benefits of DX10 are minor.

    Windows 7 is what Vista should have been. DX11 is what DX10 should have been.
     
  6. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #6
    Get either XP or Vista, it doesn't matter, whatever comes out cheaper, because in about a year or two, you are going to want to upgrade to Windows 7 anyways. Vista is about the same as XP when it comes to performance as long as you have the right system for it, which you do. XP will only give you 1 or 2 more frames per second compared to Vista.

    If you get Vista, turn off Aero, turn on the classic UI, and turn off the dashboard. Then it is basically the same as XP.
     
  7. petermcphee macrumors 6502a

    petermcphee

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #7
    I play TF2, HL2 and Portal through CrossOver without issues, but it's probably because these games are a hell of a lot older than the graphics-intensive games you're trying to play.
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #8
    Except with horrific legacy support.
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    Running games in DX10 mode on GeForce 9400M will give you even worse performance than you're currently experiencing.
     

Share This Page