aluminum powerbook and a possible electrical issue

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by TESEV, Mar 17, 2008.

1. TESEV macrumors member

TESEV

File this under "I have a bad feeling about...". So whenever I am on a landline phone and I have my PowerBook G4 (aluminum) sitting on my lap, I hear this obnoxious buzzing sound coming from the phone. When I take my PowerBook off of my lap the buzzing stops. I suspect this is a grounding issue because I have a 3rd party AC adapter that doesn't have a grounding pin. I used to have an Apple adapter with the pin until I destroyed it (and I think an Apple replacement is ludicrously expensive (and no, the warranty expired 2.5 years ago)).

I'm no electrical expert, but I'm not comfortable with what I'm hearing. Am I being paranoid or....?

2. idonotliketostu macrumors 6502

Did you try it with the powercord not pluged in?

Maybe the magnetic field generated by the cord is messing with the magnet in the phone.

I think its probably more to do with the wifi signals than anything else.

Maybe not.

3. TESEV thread starter macrumors member

TESEV

I never had the problem with the Apple adapter; I think it was because it had a grounding pin.

4. PeterC-7 macrumors member

This sounds like an earthing/grounding issue I've had for years going right back to my Tibook.

The metal skin is earthed back to the power-supply but if you don't have a grounded plug - 3 pin - it stops there. When you touch the metal skin and touch the ground with your feet, it earths through you.

I used to work on a concrete floor with bare feet and had constant trouble with pin-prick, high-tension/low amp shocks when sensitive underside of my forearms rested on the front corner of the TiBook.

The Powerbooks had the same problem and I'm suspecting the MBP's do too.