Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

juazlee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2011
Hey there.

I've been reading your forums for quite a while, and decided this would be the best resource to come for a somewhat simple question, that I cannot answer alone. Am I a macbook person?

I've been a programmer for the last 11 years, since before finishing my studies. Mostly I am a desktop user, and also a heavy gamer, but lately I've felt the growing need to purchase a notebook, since the amount of meetings is increasing, and sometimes you just need a portable device to carry around.

There have been several occasions where I needed it for documents and other things, and my phone just doesn't cut it. The vieweing space is too little. I also tried an iPad, and I thought it was an absolutely AMAZING device, but unfortunately it doesn't allow me to manipulate files and other things the way I want.

That being said, my wife has been using a 13" MBA for work that she carries back home on weekends, in case something comes up at work (she's also a programmer).

My main issue with notebooks is that they run HOT as hell, and I'm not a fan of having my bodyparts slowly cooked. But the MBA seems a little different, and doesn't run hot at all from what I can tell. Also, being a coder I feel kind of ashamed about not having any contact with OS X, it just feels wrong at this point.

However, at the $1200 price range I could get an ASUS notebook for heavy duty work and gaming that would satisfy all my needs, except for the portable part of it, and the battery duration.

I've looked at the Macbook Pro, and I'm not as impressed as I am with the more basic Macbook, or the Air. The absence of a half-decent video card got me worried, the HD3000 is most definitely a bummer for me.