Am I being realistic?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JamerTheProgram, Mar 21, 2012.

1. JamerTheProgram macrumors member

Hey!
    Im after a new Macbook (Mine is basically broken).
    So last November, I started saving. By April-July I should have about 800 after I have sold a few of my things.
    I am a iPhone developer. Im trying to start my own business. So I am developing games, apps and social networks right now.
    So I need something with a decent GPU. A 320M would do me fine. But Im worried about the Macbooks with 320M in it, as they have C2Ds in them. I want (if I can) to jump onto the i5 boat if I can.
    I would get the Macbook Pro 13 with the i5, but I rather dislike the GPU in it (But I will get this anyway if I cannot afford the one I am after).
    So I have been looking on eBay and have seen a few Macbook Pro 15 inch 2010s with i5s and good GPUS in them going for about 780 - 800.
    Do you think I could get a Macbook Pro 15'' 2010 for about that much?
    Or do you think those where just one offs?
    It will be in full time use. It will be on pretty much all day till 1:30 am.
    My iMac does all the things I want it to, but I need to have a Macbook so I can take my work with me (Right now, I am litrarely taking my iMac on holiday to do OSX work :D Bit silly, but hey).

2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

well since this will be used professionally to operate your business you should get a computer that will handle the work load you through at it, all businesses require some capital investing,

3. ri0ku macrumors 6502a

Where are you in the UK ?

I have been thinking about selling my Macbook Pro 15" 2009 (although its C2D which you are trying to avoid) it has the 9400 and the 9600 for graphics. Still has warranty until June 21st

4. JamerTheProgram thread starter macrumors member

Yeah, I agree.
    But I am on a budget.
    I need to buy Photoshop and everything.
    So 800 is as high as I can go right now.