Am I being Stupid - Expose

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by daryliow, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. daryliow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #1
    Can any one help. I am trying to locate the shortcut key for EXPOSE. Does any one know where they have moved it to on the newest Macbook.

    Appreciate the Help.
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I don't have one, but it should be F9 :)

    System Prefs->Exposé and Spaces will tell you
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Isn't it F3 or F4 now? Look for the icon which looks like the Expose Application icon in /Applications.
     
  4. Mactropolis macrumors newbie

    Mactropolis

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #4
    I believe the default expose shortcuts in Leopard are as follows:

    All windows: F9
    Application windows: F10
    Show Desktop: F11

    You can also hide/show your dashboard with F12

    Hope this helps!
     
  5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Yeah but they changed them on the new Macbooks.
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    But those shortcuts are still present on the new macbooks.
     
  7. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #7
    To view all open windows in that space, hit F3.

    F1: Brightness down
    F2: Brightness up
    F3: Expose
    F4: Dashboard
    F5: [Customizable]
    F6: [Customizable]
    F7: Rewind/Previous
    F8: Play/Pause
    F9: Fast-forward/Skip
    F10: Mute
    F11: Volume Down
    F12: Volume Up

    Unless you changed these from the default, then this is what it should be (standard on the SR Macbooks)
     
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    Slight point, these aren't actually the F-keys, they are the second function of the F-Keys. By default to use the F-keys you have to press the 'fn' button in conjunction with the key. With that point made the original expose shortcuts are given below

    fn+F8 = spaces
    fn+F9 = All windows
    fn+F10 = All application windows
    fn+F11 = Show desktop
    fn+f12 = Dashboard
     
  9. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #9

    Fn+F8 works, but the rest do nothing for me.
     
  10. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #10
    thats odd because I haven't changed those preferences on my MB and they work for me (although I did do a clean install when I got it)
     
  11. mahonmeister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    Redlands, CA
    #11
    I don't understand why the new keyboards have dashboard and Expose shortcut set to F3 and F4. They should have just kept them on the F12 and F9 keys and moved the volume and media keys to the left (F3 to F8).
     

Share This Page