Am i better off with a pc over a mbp??

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by hulkster, Sep 30, 2008.

1. hulkster macrumors newbie

Ok…I am desperate for a new laptop at the moment! I’ve started university and my course is starting to pick up pace as we speak! I’m studying architecture but am in the final 2 years (it’s a 7 year course in the uk!!) so the workload and expectations are far greater than before. :(

I had been waiting patiently for the rumoured new mbp’s on the 14/10/08 which is 2 weeks away from today but am starting to get cold feet. Not for the machine which I cannot wait to see and don’t doubt will be amazing but for how I’ll be using it. I primarily use Microstation along with Rhino, 3dsmax and adobe products (photoshop, illustrator etc etc) and all of these minus the adobe programs are for pc only. Am I foolish to buy a mac in this instance? I know that I can run windows through bootcamp but is there not the possibility of glitches or having a slow running windows machine. Would my machine be faster if it was a pc running pc designed programs rather than a mac running the same pc designed ones??

My friend who works in the London oxford street apple store thought maybe I should get a new pc if I’d be using the mbp primarily as a windows machine. What do you guys think? With bootcamp running windows I’d have to keep on resetting to get back to my adobe programs, music, safari browser and photos. 3dsmax, Microstation and Rhino are all power hungry rendering/modeling/cad programs and as I am competent in them makes little sense to switch to mac variants.

I’m by no means trying to start a machine war, I’d prefer a mac anyday of the week and don’t get me started on the OS’s but need some sound advice.

Please help….I’m in such a pickle with it! :(

Thanks

2. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

rjphoto

One of my I.S. friends bought a MacBookPro the week OSX10.5 was released. Now he was a hard core windows user/administrator.