am i doomed in south floriduh?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by furcalchick, Jul 19, 2007.

1. furcalchick macrumors 68020

furcalchick

i could be making some major decisions in the next month or so. right now, i'm applying for a teaching position at the local school system, which is currently the only position i really can take within an hour's drive of me (yes, i live in the boonies of floriduh), and i haven't heard back from the district yet, and i'm worried that i've been turned down. if you don't already know, i graduated with a biology degree a few months back and there are very few biology jobs in my area, closest ones are probably a few hours drive away, and it's not too well there either. i don't have a driver's license (which is required since there's no other way to get anywhere at all in my area), and everything is far and i have no friends, and everyone is old. i feel miserable here most of the time, and i don't think there is much left i can do here.

i also look back to the good old days back in san diego where things were nicer, you didn't need a car to go somewhere, everything was in reach, the town never died in the summer, a better time. i was happy there, and it seemed like nothing could go wrong, where here, everything does go wrong. i feel if i go back there, i could at least feel a bit better about myself and instead of feeling miserable, i can at least get some of that old feeling back.

so here's the questions.

1. should i stay and keep trying in south florida to get a job and work my way up to be happy here, or move to san diego?
    2. should i move to san diego or elsewhere?

i just need some outside perspectives since i'm tired of the same old story from my small circle. i'm thinking the reason for all my problems was in fact this place...

2. elfin buddy macrumors 6502a

elfin buddy