Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shoelessone

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 17, 2007
So, lately I've been very frusterated with my new(ish) early 2011 13" MBP. I have the 2.7 ghz i7 model with 4GB of memory. This was purchased new a month or so ago.

Anyway, it basically feels like it runs VERY slow. I am a developer, and at any given time I'll have these application (windows) open:
Firefox
Chrome
1Password
PHPStorm (IDE similar to Eclipse)
Terminal
Transmit
Textmate
MAMP
Preview

Additionally, I'll normally have these system tray applications open:
Sparrow
Dropbox
LogMeIn
Divvy
A few Java processes

I also am driving a 24" LCD (but keep my laptop lid shut so I'm only driving the one display).

As a list, it looks like quite a lot I guess, but the reality is that I'm running a pretty normal number of applications for a web/java/etc developer. The problem is things are painfully slow often times. ALT-tabbing can get ungodly slow, resizing windows can be painful, sometimes if I try to move too quickly (closing tabs, opening tabs, alt tab, typing, saving, alt tab, refreshing, alt tab, etc) things slow down and there will even be a small lag when typing.

Should I have any trouble at all running these applications concurrently? Am I just moving to fast or trying to do too much at once?

I did move over all of my applications/settings from an older iMac, so I'm wondering if this could have something to do with the problem?

Currently I'm planning on reinstalling OSX (a clean install), and then selectively install applications as needed (basically the list above).

Oh, and while I'm at it, is there anyway to completely and totally disable Lion's "reopen applications" option? I really am not happy with Lion, it seems generally less stable and slower then Snow Leopard.

Thanks for reading and any input!
kev

fr4c

macrumors 65816
Jul 27, 2007
Hamster wheel