Am I getting a good deal, and which mac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by seanuhthin, Jul 12, 2010.

1. seanuhthin macrumors member

seanuhthin

Sorry for the long post :/
    I am about to sell my custom pc with an i7 processor and Graphics card. The person offered me 950.

What do you all think? I am a graphic artist in the making and High School student (sophomore). My dad offered to help me out with the purchase of my new Mac, so I can afford a Mac book Pro or iMac, however my question is, am I making the right decision?

I am almost positive I can't ask for more that 300-400 dollars from my dad to help get a Mac. I know I can't stand windows anymore, and I absolutely love OSX. Being interested in gaming, I am extremely weary of switching from an i7 processor and great graphics card down to a intel core 2 duo, but with the speed I have seen in the apple store on even the base MBP... I just don't know what to think.

If you say go mac, which model?

2. Makosuke macrumors 603

Well, if you're a graphic artist, unless you already have a high-end monitor, you want an iMac, for the simple reason that they have color-accurate IPS screens.

If you look at the prices from other companies selling displays with the same panels as the current-gen iMacs, about half the cost of the computer is in the high-end display panel.

Not saying you can't produce good art with a cheaper TN-based screen, but frankly if you are serious about art you might as well start on good footing when it comes to color rendition on your monitor.

Apple's laptops have very good panels, but they're not IPS (in fact, I'm not aware of ANY laptop currently available that uses an IPS panel), so I'd lean away from them for that reason alone--I can easily tell the difference between the color range and accuracy on my MBP vs my i7 iMac switching between the two, and I avoid doing color-sensitive work on the laptop for that reason.