Am I getting free 3G?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Little Endian, Apr 30, 2010.

  1. Little Endian macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #1
    Okay so I got the 3G ipad today and synced it to my MBP. I decided to to restore my ipad to my last iphone sync on this computer which was done in October of Last year. I have not setup or activated 3G service on my ipad, however while syncing the At&T logo and signal strength bars appeared during the sync. Now I have 3G access, but I don't think I should.... I never paid but oh well.

    Yes this sounds unbelievable, but I am somehow managing to access 3G without even setting it up. It might be important to note that the backup I used was from a Jailbroken iphone. If anyone else can test this to confirm it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  3. coelacanth macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #3
    Are you just seeing he 3G logo on the top bar? Or can you acually use the data? Turn off wifi, try goto whatever site. Can you go?
     
  4. ovrlrd macrumors 65816

    ovrlrd

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #4
    This is normal, It always has service so you can sign up without Wi-Fi and use GPS. The difference is that you can't actually use the data service without activating it. If you try to go to a website for example it will say "No internet connection"
     
  5. Little Endian thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #5
    Okay I feel stupid now. Getting all excited for nothing. Oddly enough though before syncing the ipad to my computer there was no At&T logo just the Wifi signal strength bar.
     

Share This Page