Am I lactose intolerant?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by thesdx, Feb 26, 2008.

1. thesdx macrumors 6502a

For the past few years, I've been getting these horrible stomach aches a couple hours after eating lunch at school. I decided to try and figure out why, and eventually found that the school's milk was the problem. I stopped drinking their milk, and it got much better. However, I've started getting them again for no apparent reason. Some days I get one, others I don't. I don't think I'm allergic to dairy products, as I'm able to drink milk at home without any problems. I should probably talk to the school's nurse or cafeteria manager about the problem, but just figured I'd see if anyone here had any ideas of what's going on.

2. igmolinav macrumors 65816

Hi,

I am not a doctor. What I am about to tell you is from experiences of people I have met, or who are close to me.

If you like milk, some supermarkets have lactose-free milk. My mother can't drink any milk. To her, milk, flours (bread, cakes, etc.), ham and sausages provoke her asthma. She was "set free" from ashtma the moment she started to avoid meals that contained these ingredients.

Perhaps, there is something that you eat that your stomach doesn't tolerate anymore. Perhaps taking something out from your diet, something that may be more difficult to digest will do good to your stomach if you leave it out.

Stomachs are very strong. However, if you are regularly experiencing stress or if you are emotionally living a difficult moment, it may be showing in your stomach.

I don't know if this helps a bit. I hope you feel better soon : ) !!!

P.S. I also consult once a year with an alternative medicine doctor.

3. marykay9507 macrumors 6502a

marykay9507