Am I Missing Something Very Simple?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bli625, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. bli625 macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #1
    If a dialog box comes up like this.. is it possible to use the keyboard to select which one I want to choose rather than using the trackpad/mouse? I've searched Google.. but I haven't come up with any answers because I don't really know what to search for. I've tried keyboard things too... like guesses. Alt + Arrow Key, Command + Arrow Key.. but they don't work.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. hellrider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    its the one thing about Mac OS X that I want changed, besides fixing the UI inconsistencies.
     
  3. bli625 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
  4. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #4
    System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard Shortcuts > All controls (at the bottom)

    Then you can tab between buttons and confirm with space.
     
  5. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    Like hellrider said, the consistency of that functionality in Mac OS X is none.

    I do know, however, that sometimes pressing the first letter of the option of you want pick works. For example, when you press the power button on your Mac, and press S on your keyboard, it goes to sleep.
     
  6. thomasp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I haven't tried this on Leopard (only on Tiger), but in the case of the "Save/Don't Save" dialogue, you can do the following:

    Cmd + D for Don't Save
    Esc for Cancel
    Return/Enter for Save
     
  7. bli625 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #7
    Thanks! This works.
     
  8. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

    Signal-11

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right
    #8
    Not only that, but once you have this active, space will confirms the highlighted action while enter will confirm the darkened button action.

    And holy crap, can your desktops icons BE any bigger?
     
  9. Jisuo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    A question:

    When you got your menubar cluttered with icons and utilites what happens when the program menu is so long it doesn't fit. What overlaps what?
     
  10. bli625 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    #10
    The icons get overlapped by the menu bar of the program you're running.
     
  11. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    Usually you need to do Shift + S ("Save") or Shift + whatever the first letter of the button you want to press.
     
  12. dirt farmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    #12
    Would Safari--->Preferences--->Advanced "Press tab to highlight each item on a webpage" also do the trick?
     
  13. Signal-11 macrumors 65816

    Signal-11

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right
    #13
    For the TS, I don't believe so. That's an OS dialogue box, not specific to the app.
     
  14. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #14
    Yeah, this is something that annoys me too.

    Some that work most of the time:

    CMD+D - Don't Save
    CMD+R - Replace

    I think there's another one too.
     

Share This Page