Am I reading the dev notes right? You can now rollback from iOS 8 to iOS7?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by chrono1081, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Am I reading the dev notes right? You can install iOS 8, then roll back to 7 without any crazy hacks?? Just simply backing up to iTunes?

    Has anyone done this successfully?
     
  2. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #2
    What are you reading that gives you this impression? Because I see the following in the "Read Me Before Downloading" section of the iOS Dev Center:
    [emphasis mine]
     
  3. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #3
    This is what greets me as soon as I log in to my developer account:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #4
    Yes, that contains the text that informs you that you cannot restore to earlier version of iOS.
     
  5. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #5
    Ah ok I see what it's saying now. It's saying just restore your device in general.

    I thought it was weird that Apple would suddenly enable you to roll back operating systems.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    Typically you can rollback during beta by doing a DFU restore, although this isn't supported by Apple.
     
  7. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #7
    Yup, it was ALWAYS possible, with every single beta.
     
  8. thegreenpizza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    #8
    DFU restore does work

    But it's really the only way, so make sure you've got backups and time.
     
  9. chrono1081 thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #9
    If it works using DFU that would be great. I have an app at work I want to test but I'd rather not test on the work iPads and would Rather test on my own.
     
  10. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #10
    Not if they also update the baseband code to a version which is incompatible with any earlier OS release. Then you could end up with non-functional cellular or worse after an unsupported DFU install.
     

Share This Page