Am I ripping my friend off?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by airjuggernaut, Jul 1, 2008.

1. airjuggernaut macrumors 6502a

Hey everyone.

Well recentley I've been in the market for a CHEAP old Apple Laptop. I'm a high school student, desperately looking for a job, so I only have around $250saved.

I've looked at the PowerBook G4's which I think are amazing, but they were still out of my budget.

So then I turned to iBook G4's, which were a little bit more in my budget, I looked and waited just to find out that they end up selling for more than my budget can allow.

Then a good friend of mine told me about his iBook G4.

He's been wanting to sell it for some time now, it was essentially a handmedown from his older sister who is now done uni.

He asked if I would take it for $350.

I told him, I couldn't afford it right now, since I don't have much money.

He asked me how much money I had, to which I replied $250.

He said that might be "do-able", he'll get back to me tommorow about it.

Now the thing is he just bought a new battery from apple like 3 days ago for the iBook, and the iBook itself is in really good condition.

It's specs are iBook 12" 1.2ghz, 512mb Ram, 60Gb HD and it comes with all the discs, the charger, etc.

Do you think i'd be ripping him off if I bought it for $250.

He's a really good friend, and I would feel terrible if i were ripping him off.

2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

i dont think so as he is thinking about the price you offered

3. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

ktbubster

he could get 400 assuming condition is good or maybe more elsewhere.

250 for a friend though might be good, since he knows it's going to a good home... perhaps you could offer to give him another 100 over the next month or two as you get it.

That might make your conscious feel better :)

4. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

TwinCities Dan

Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    Ran your info thru http://www.mac2sell.net/

Attached Files: