Am I the unluckiest nMP owner?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by theBigD23, Sep 26, 2014.

  1. theBigD23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #1
    Briefly, it all started by pre-ordering the nMP in December of last year. I received the unit and after some time, I had graphical corruption issues. I would get random flashes of graphics pop ins. Returned.

    Next, I received my nMP in April. I had a major crash issue where the system would go to sleep, but would shut down and not wake up. This happened multiple times. Returned.

    This last time, I got another nMP on Monday, and I am now having the same exact issue as the second one. It will randomly shut off in the middle of the night after going to sleep. I will wake up and it's off.

    Looking at the crash log, it looks different than my previous nMP. I was thinking if it's anything that I'm doing. However, I have my 2008 MP still on and connected to the same power strip and after 6 years of use, I've had 2 crashes, but nothing like this. It's still on right next to me, where the nMP had to powered on.

    Has anyone experienced anything like this?

    The configurations have been the same, except the first one was a D300 and the subsequent two have been D700. The processors and RAM (6-core/32), have been the same.

    I don't think I have a choice but to return it. A system this expensive shouldn't give me these issues.
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    Do you have this nMP connected to a smart UPS?
    If yes, I suggest you check your energy saver options in preferences. You probably have used these Macs over different iterations of OS X 10.9 - 10.9.5.

    Mine (cMP) developed the shutting off during the night issue until I adjusted my energy saver settings. Now it's back to normal for me.
     
  3. theBigD23 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #3
    It's not connected to a smart UPS. I only reduced the time for the monitor to go to sleep, so there shouldn't be anything to shut it down. My 2008 Mac Pro stays on and doesn't have this issue.

    Edit: the 2008 MP on the same power strip as the nMP as well.
     
  4. TheKnifeFight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Socal
    #4
    I had the same thing happen as you on the sleep/wake issue. I do think i have it resolved though, I never traded it in.

    What I did was make sure the displays were set to displayport rather than auto config. This is done on the actual displays not in the nMP system settings. I think that's where you're getting hung up on.

    Since then, it's been working well. No crashes or issues from waking. Try it before you trade in a possibly good machine.
     
  5. Barendby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Location:
    South Africa
    #5
    I also had endless issues, for 4 months now....same as you but lots of crashes too, especially in bootcamp it was so unstable, probably crashed every hour. I took mine back and they said nothing wrong. At the end i found out one of my thunderbolt displays was causing the error. Once i removed it all was fine. Weird, but if you have a tb display maybe try another monitor?
     
  6. crjackson2134, Sep 26, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Two users with similar issues attributed to displays and connections. I'd say that's a good starting place.
     
  7. theBigD23 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #7
    I have the pre thunderbolt LED displays. Let's say that is the issue, what do I do? I can't get new ones and I'd be in the same position.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    I'm not sure what your connection options are. Switch from HDIM to DVI or the inverse. Turn off the monitor's port scanning, and lock it into the type of connection you are using. You're going to have to do some expiermentation and trouble shooting on your own. It's obvious that continued system swapping isn't the answer. Be relentless! Try everything!
     
  9. Garamond macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    #9
    Apple is really pissing on Mac Pro customers. I sold my last Pro last year and went for a top-specced iMac 27" 3.5Ghz. Never been happier with any other Mac! Recommended :)
     
  10. TheKnifeFight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Socal
    #10
    I'm using Dell ultrasharps so the options are on the display. Is there no way to assign connection type on Apple's display?

    agreed.
     

Share This Page