Am I Understanding This Correctly?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TheseGoTo11, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. TheseGoTo11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #1
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304662

    Is this correct? Apple's site states "the MacBook Pro (C2D) will only support 3 GB total memory". So don't bother going up to 4 GB, or is there a way to get around this? Also, is it safe to assume that as long as I purchase 3rd-party memory that meets Apple's specs and install it correctly myself that I will not void Apple Care T&C's? Thanks
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. TheseGoTo11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the quick reply. Why then does Apple give the option to buy a MBP with up to 4GB then?
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    I think the new Santa Rosa MBP's do allow up to 4GB, it was the last rev MBP's that only allowed 3GB (as far as I remember)
     
  5. TheseGoTo11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #5
    D'oh!!! Meh...what can you do. I've read a few different threads talking up Crucial for memory. Any thoughts?
     
  6. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    There are 2 different versions of the Core 2 Duo mobile processor chipsets.

    The first version (Napa) only allows access to 3 GB of memory, this is the chipset in the Core Duo up to the previous generation Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro.

    The second version (Santa Rosa) which is in the current MacBook Pro allows 4 GB of RAM.
     

Share This Page