Am I waiting for nothing?!

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Germwise, May 28, 2009.

1. Germwise macrumors regular

First I apologize since I posted something a bit similar a few days ago in the buying advice forum but I never got my question answered.

I'm eyeing a new macbook aluminum.

Still not sure if I want the 2.0 or 2.4.

Here is what my dilemma comes down to. My biggest concern is $$$$ I'm a grad student which means I don't have a lot of it. Frankly I don't even really need a macbook. I have all the computing power I really need.

I have been waiting for the refresh, not for the faster speed, (.13 ghz, HA!) but for a potential drop in prices. However, now that the whitebook has been updated, I don't see any price drops on the old ones from the macstore.

That is to say, they aren't for sale new on the clearance section so that I would get a free ipod and on the refurbished end there is the same discount you would expect from the 2.13 refurbished.

So it comes down to this. Am I waiting for nothing?

Even if I wait for the 2.13/2.53 upgrade, how long until these are available refurbished?

My biggest concern is $$$$ and NOT getting one of the old screens. To me, they look terrible.

Please help me!

2. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

ziggyonice

Well in that case, perhaps you should wait 'til you have a little more money available before making the purchase. It's possible that a drop in prices could happen at WWDC in two weeks... but if it doesn't, it could be even a few months after that before we'd see changes.

The MacBook is a great machine, but if you don't have the money right now, I'd hold off a little longer. :)

3. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia

Nice answer, really helpful :rolleyes:

To answer the OP's question, if you have adequate computing power, then why upgrade if you barely have any money anyway? Seems a bit pointless to me. You don't lose anything by waiting, and you could even see a price drop, so it could end up being beneficial!