Am I weak or are the MacBooks & MacBook Pros heavy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tray, Jan 25, 2008.

1. tray macrumors member

Hi,

I'm a student and a day normally sees me shuttling between different places in school. I use a 15.4" MBP (MB user previously) in a Timbuk2 (medium-sized) sling bag.

There'll be a time after mid-day when I realize the weight of the bag is killing me. My shoulders are aching and sometimes I get this burning sensation. I tried going to school a couple of days without my notebook (impossible to do again) and I realized how much lighter my bag was and I could honestly carry it around the whole day without any issues.

However, when I read these threads, it seems that most people seem to have no issue with the weight of the MBs and MBPs. Am I an anomaly? The MBA looks very appealing to me simply because of its weight. It is the lightest notebook. I was actually thinking of downgrading my SR MBP to a 12" PowerBook when I realized that the PB is only slightly lighter.

God, am I only the one that feels the Apple's current line of notebooks (except the MBA) are heavy to carry around the entire day? Please tell me I'm not alone. Thanks. :D

2. Ringu macrumors member

change bags

Change your bag. Use a regular backpack with two shoulder straps rather than a sling bag.

That will help no end.

Most people don't have too many issues with the weight because they don't actually carry them around all day, just from the house to the car/train/bus, then from that to work/school.

3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

Neil321

Try going to the gym more

4. 119576 Guest

Yeah you're pretty weak. :p

I carry my MB in a satchel for about 3 hours each day and I don't even notice the weight.
    They're only a few pounds and if that's causing you problems, you should probably think about building a bit of muscle. You may want to try a regular backpack; failing that.

5. bigbadnewill macrumors 6502