Amazon S3 - Anyone use it?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Cromulent, Apr 5, 2009.

  1. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #1
    I'm thinking of signing up for Amazon S3 for remote backups. Does anyone here use it at all? What is the service like?

    Any information about them is appreciated.
     
  2. vivithemage macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #2
    I have a friend who uses it for his iphone app.

    http://www.sunmapapp.com/

    loads from the closest server in your state/country...pretty nifty.
     
  3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    How does that relate to the thread? Does it use S3?
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    I use jungledisk for backing up my photos ... it uses S3 for the backend. SE is cheap (about $1/month for the amount I've uploaded so far) and reliable.

    Are you thinking of using a third party application for backups or rolling your own? S3 seems to have a pretty well developed API. I thought about writing my own application for the hell of it, but the amount of time needed to produce something reliable put me off that idea quickly)
     
  5. Cromulent thread starter macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #5
    Initially I was just going to use Cyberduck and manually backup my data but in the long term I was planning on integrating it into my website.
     
  6. davecuse macrumors 6502

    davecuse

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    I've used S3 on a few projects, it worked really well as a cheaper method of serving up images. For backup purposes, it might not be ideal, as anything you upload is going to publicly visible.

    If you're in search of a secure backup solution, why not just get a Time Capsule or Drobo?
     
  7. Cromulent thread starter macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7
    Not secure enough. If I get robbed or have a fire then the backup gets lost. I guess I'll have to look into more specialist backup solutions.
     

Share This Page