Resolved AMD Framebuffer Injection Question...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NOTNlCE, Nov 15, 2014.

  1. NOTNlCE, Nov 15, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2014

    NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #1
    Alright, folks, this one's a bit out there.

    I recently acquired an older Radeon 6450 GPU, and I'm trying to stick it in my Mac Pro 1,1 right now, as I want the graphics card that's in there to go elsewhere. However, unlike NVIDIA cards, it doesn't work out of the box. I've done some research, and it seems like I need to use Framebuffer injection to enable the card to give full QE/CI under OS X Yosemite, but I am unsure of how to do that without a DSDT or bootloader inection. How do I even get my framebuffer? DPCIManager gives me the device ID of 6779 for my 512MB AMD 6450.

    I suppose I require some assistance from someone who knows a bit more about this than I do.

    Thanks.

    -N
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    Gonna guess you've been researching at hackintosh sites

    Framebuffer isnt issue

    Device I'd needs to be in drivers

    Research 7850 to see what you need to do but likely in different kexts
     
  3. NOTNlCE, Nov 15, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2014

    NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #3
    Yeah, not a ton of people using this card, let alone in an OS X based system that's not a hackintosh. I suppose I can just... whitelist the card with the device ID in the ATI6000Controller.kext?

    EDIT:

    Alright, crossing my fingers. Unfortunately, messing with the kext unsigned it, so to anyone who's looking to do this, you'll need to enable kext-dev-mode=1 in your nvram boot-args.
     
  4. NOTNlCE, Nov 15, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014

    NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #4
    Perfect.

    For anyone else looking to do something similar, this was a very easy-to-follow guide.

    http://www.hackintoshosx.com/topic/7673-tipskexts-and-deviceids/

    Simply edit info.plist inside the kext, insert a new device ID (Use DPCI manager to find Vendor and Device ID, then insert a new device id (0xDeviceIDVendorID). Then reinstall kext as described.

    Thanks MVC, I was digging in the wrong places.

    EDIT:

    Working without device ID injection after 10.10.1 fresh install. Must have had a bum kext.
     

Share This Page