AMD Mac Pro??

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by iSlave, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. iSlave macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #1
    How come the Mac Pro page says 'graphics options from NVidia and AMD' and then again on the configuration page??
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    Because the graphics card options include an ATI card. ATI is made by AMD.
     
  3. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    That is because there are both AMD and NVidia graphics options. AMD owns and manufactures the ATI Radeon brand of graphics cards and the Mac Pro has one as an option.
     
  4. iSlave thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #4
    Ahhhhh, okay. I didn't know that ATI was owned by AMD.....

    Thread: Closed.
     
  5. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    #5
    AMD will never be in Mac's, not unless Intel gets squeezed from an anti-trust
    move.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    I agree. And currently Intel is the biggest manufacturer and it's way ahead AMD, so I can't see Intel lacking interest of Apple or anything like that.
     

Share This Page