AMD Polaris GPUs Plug and Play in macOS 10.12.6 & 10.13

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by theitsage, Jun 13, 2017.

  1. theitsage, Jun 13, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2017

    theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #1
    Thanks to the mid 2017 Macs and Apple's support for eGPU in the upcoming macOS 10.13 High Sierra, AMD Polaris desktop graphics cards are plug and play in the Mac Pro tower. No boot screen is the only missing feature. I tested RX 460, RX 470, RX 480, and RX 580 in my 5,1. They all work.

    In 10.13 Developer Beta, multiple displays and audio output through DisplayPort are functional. With 2 RX 480s, BruceX was averaging less than 12s. Here are some screen captures.

    Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 5.25.50 PM.png

    Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 3.35.22 PM.png Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 3.37.06 PM.png

    I used another boot drive to install 10.12.6 Beta 3 tonight. RX 480 is now plug and play. AMD9520Controller and AMDRadeonX42000 are the new kexts and have 67DF in them. :D

    10-12-6-rx-480-plug-play.png
    10-12-6-rx-480-extension.png
     
  2. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #2
    Whoa, RX 460 works without any modifications at all? That's a bit of a surprise. I wonder if the 560 does, too.
     
  3. OEMPT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    #3
    Does dp work with multiple displays in daisy chain ?
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 603

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    I think RX460 always work OOTB in MacOS since launch. Only RX470 and RX480 require kext edit (I mean in Sierra).
     
  5. ShawnF macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
  6. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #6
    I don't have a cMP to test in, but I put an RX 560 in my eGPU enclosure. It's recognized without any edits if I hot plug it, but it's not actually working for me (can't boot with it plugged in and the eGPU scripts don't work).

    That's enough for me to believe it'll work in a cMP, though. Since I wasn't totally successful take it for what you will, but if you can get it from somewhere with a liberal return policy (and if you just need a placeholder until the ASICs catch up the GPU miners) then it seems like a native solution if you're willing to run a beta OS. I rolled back to my Time Machine backup of 10.12.5 and everything is running fine with the requisite edits.

    The 560 has the full 16CUs where the 460 only has 14, so that's a half-way decent boost in shading power. The Sapphire model I bought has a single 6-pin connector, which is sure to be fine in any cMP as long as you have the cable.
     
  7. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #7
    Why is that screenshot showing a x8 link? A 5,1 has only x16 and x4 slots, is the 460 only x8? A 470/480/570/580 is always x16.
     
  8. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #8
    Negotiation is based on how many total PCIE lanes are used.
     
  9. theitsage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #9
    I don't have the appropriate monitors to test this functionality.

    What @SoyCapitanSoyCapitan said. I was running 2 RX 480s and the GPU in Slot 1 was at 8x while the one in Slot 2 was at 16x.

    A GPU needs to be IOPCITunnelCompatible in order for macOS to make use of it as an external graphics card. Goalque's automate-eGPU script did that for previous version of Mac OS. In 10.13 Beta, only 67DF is IOPCITunnelCompatible.
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #10
    I have a bunch of Polaris cards to sell off cheaply. They were accumulating for months to build a miner but I don't see the point. I'll stick them on eBay and see how many overchargers I can annoy ;)
     
  11. O.N.Y.X macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Location:
    Vienna
    #11
    @theitsage

    Would you, by any chance, be able to test a WX5100 too? The combination of 8 GB at <75 W + single slot design might be worth spending the extra $.
     
  12. devon807 macrumors regular

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #12
    If your selling, i'm buying!
     
  13. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #13
    Problem is in 4-5 weeks when consumer Vega comes out then the older cards will plummet.
     
  14. devon807 macrumors regular

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #14
    If Vega is all that we think it is, it will be worth the wait for sure.
     
  15. pigsyn, Jun 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017

    pigsyn macrumors member

    pigsyn

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #15
    This will not work OOB and will require kexts edits ... (*should* work by injecting pci id 67c7 to baffin personalities)
    It's basically a even more castrated and overpriced RX 470, according to specs.
     
  16. devon807 macrumors regular

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #16
    I wonder if Apple would use these "WX" series GPU'S in the upcoming Mac Pro's like they did with the D300/500/700?
     
  17. O.N.Y.X macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Location:
    Vienna
    #17
    Even under High Sierra? That sucks
    Well I'm going to wait for Vega to drop then. There is a chance a lower tier Vega might be the best card to get price and performance wise. The built in Radeon just doesn't cut it anymore in Logic Pro, I really need a new GPU.
     
  18. knowhate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #18
    Just updated to 10.13 Beta 2. Everything is working fine. RX 480 Luxmark scores also seem to incrementally be getting better from Sierra betas low 14,100s-14,300s to now being at 14,477. Wow.
     
  19. theitsage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #19
    10.13 Beta 2 also contains drivers for Vega GPU. Get ready to buy Radeon RX Vega. :)
     
  20. bustabesta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    #20
    Can confirm ASUS RX 550 4GB does not work in High Sierra on 2010 cMP.
     
  21. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #21
    There is no 699F device ID in the kexts to allow Polaris 12 work in Mac OS.
     
  22. thomasthegps macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    #22

    What about 5.0 GT/sec ?
     
  23. Fangio, Jun 22, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017

    Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #23
    Yup, looking good.

    Last line means eGPU support, afaik..?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. theitsage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #24
    That's my guess too. IOPCITunnelCompatible is a good start.
     
  25. MarkC426, Jun 23, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2017

    MarkC426 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    If i have an Apple 5770 in slot 1 with a regular display, and an rx 460 in slot 2 with a 4k display, will i get the boot screen on the regular display?

    Edit: that's on sierra
     

Share This Page