AMD Radeon 7950 Flashed ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Washac, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    I have one of these on its way to me and while I wait I have a question, as it is flashed what port will show the EFI boot screen, I ask because the card I use at the moment is flashed but only shows the EFI bootscreen via the top DVI port.
     
  2. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
    Depends on whether the seller knows what he is doing or not. :D
    If he has chosen the right card, all ports will show a boot screen and work in OS X. If he didn't, maybe just a few ports will work at all.
     
  3. kennyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    #3
    Yes, beware of ebay flashed cards, I actually ordered couple of 7950s from different buyers lately, I needed some extra GPU power for a project and we were running everything on cMP towers. I ended up flashing almost all of the cards by myself. I even had a card which was not flashed but had an Apple logo stick on the card lol :eek:o_O
     
  4. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the warning, if the card works all well and good, if flashed and works then that will be a bonus :)
     
  5. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Card arrived today, all fitted and working, and it is flashed, just picked the first Mini Display Port and up comes the Apple Logo :)
     
  6. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #6
    Yey bonus it
    Yey bonus it is flashed :)
     

Share This Page